Solbit Asks A Great Kiskidee, “What are you looking for?”

Dear Nicalai,

Oh, girl, I think I’m going to be sad.  I’m usually pretty upbeat and happy.  So what’s my problem?  My problem is that it’s almost over.  Nona and Papa told me this morning that, in just a few days, our 7+ months in South America will come to an end.  (I’ve got tears in my eyes as I wrote that last sentence.) We still have Bahia Bustamante here in Patagonia to look forward to.  I’m going to make sure to enjoy that.

While we’re still here in Trelew — that’s an old town started by immigrants from Wales — we like walking by a pond near our hotel.  We see birds. One really surprised me.

Papa pointed, while Nona took this picture, and said, “That’s a Great Kiskidee. We’ve seen a lot of those in South America, haven’t we.”

Papa pointed, while Nona took this picture, and said, “That’s a Great Kiskidee. We’ve seen a lot of those in South America, haven’t we.”

Well, no surprise there.  That’s not what surprised me.  Just a little while later my surprise came along.

I pointed and called to Nona and Papa, “Look at that giant humming bird hovering there!  That’s even bigger than the giant humming birds that we saw in Iguazu Falls.”

I pointed and called to Nona and Papa, “Look at that giant humming bird hovering there!  That’s even bigger than the giant humming birds that we saw in Iguazu Falls.”

At first, Nona and Papa agreed, but then Papa chuckled, “Look Solbit, that bird hovers like a humming bird, but it’s just our old friend the Great Kisdidee. Fooled you!”

That bird had fooled me, but I think it also fooled Papa for just a moment, but I’m not going to embarrass Papa by pointing that out.  I’ll let him think he’s smarter than … well, smarter than he really is.  Although, I have to say that he is pretty smart.

I thought the Great Kiskidee was hovering because it was looking for something.  So, I yelled, “Hey, what are you looking for?”  That was my mistake.  The moment the Kiskidee heard my squeaky voice, it stopped hovering and took off so fast that I could hardly see it.  I’m pretty sure it had been looking for food.  Birds spend a lot of time looking for things to eat. They seem to be eating all the time. Not like us.  We just eat once or twice a day.  I think Papa might like to eat more often, but Nona keeps a lid on that.

I know what we were looking for: more birds.  We found this one, an austral thrush. It didn’t fly away when I asked, “Hey, what are you looking for?”

I know what we were looking for: more birds.  We found this one, an austral thrush. It didn’t fly away when I asked, “Hey, what are you looking for?”

This thrush replied, “I’m not looking for anything right now.  I’ve had my fill of insects this afternoon.  I’m just looking over there at those beautiful swans.”

The swans are so graceful and beautiful that I think the people of Trelew are really lucky to have them here.

The swans are so graceful and beautiful that I think the people of Trelew are really lucky to have them here.

Wow! Swans are a good thing to look at.  Just gorgeous!  Nona got out her huge book of birds, “Let me see.  Give me just a moment.  Ah, those are coscoroba swans!  Another new bird for us!”

“Oh, look over there,” Papa called to us.  There’s another old friend of ours, but I always like seeing them.” I recognized the bird right away.

The white tufted grebe came over to say hello to us.  It’s pretty confident around human beings … and a plastic Jurassic, too.

The white tufted grebe came over to say hello to us.  It’s pretty confident around human beings … and a plastic Jurassic, too.

“Hey, what are you looking for?” I asked our friend the grebe.  “Oh, I’m not looking for anything right now.  I’m just enjoying watching those lovely swans.  I just wish the city could do something about that ugly background over there.  You know, to show off those swans — well, and us grebes, too — with a more fitting background.”  I said, “Say no more, I know what you mean, girl.”

Well, walking around the pond and watching birds sort of perked me up.  I almost forgot to be sad about our pending departure from South America.  I need to remember to go for walks and go looking for birds next time I’m feeling down in the dumps, or anxious, or worried, or bored. I just feel so much better when I do that, don’t you?

Bye!  I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

October 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Tags:  travel, humor, children, around the world, dinosaur, Argentina, Trelew, kiskidee, coscoroba swan, white tufted grebe, austral thrush

Leave a Reply

