Costanera Sur – again

Dear Nicalai,

October in South America means that spring has sprung!  I look forward to our walks to the ecological reserve — called “Costanera Sur.”  The bees are buzzing. The flowers, bushes, and trees are blooming, and the birds fly around with construction materials for their nests.

Uncle Josh saw our photo of this flower and told us the name, “passion flower.”  I enjoy its design, and so does that bee.

Uncle Josh saw our photo of this flower and told us the name, “passion flower.”  I enjoy its design, and so does that bee.

Papa explained that the bees help flowers (and other plants too) to reproduce.  He said that flowers try to attract bees by looking good.  The bees stop by the flower for a visit, pick up tiny grains of pollen on their fuzzy hairs, then fly to another flower and give that flower the pollen, and then, with the pollen, the flower can make new seeds.

What a miracle! Who figured that out?  Nona says that, if I want an answer to my question, then I need to learn about something called evolution and a guy named Darwin.  Gosh, there’s a lot to learn, isn’t there?  Don’t you feel like the more you learn, the more you want to learn?  I do.  Discovering all these new things just makes the whole world more wonderful to me.

Nona said in a loud whisper, “Solbit, look! There’s a ‘salt tatter.’”  I looked for a potato with salt on it, but I didn’t see any plates with potatoes or cartons with french fries . “All I see is that bird,” I replied.

Nona said in a loud whisper, “Solbit, look! There’s a ‘salt tatter.’”  I looked for a potato with salt on it, but I didn’t see any plates with potatoes or cartons with french fries . “All I see is that bird,” I replied.

Well, I misunderstood what Nona had said.  She said “Saltator.” That’s  a bird, a golden-billed saltator. I joked, “Saltator? Who comes up with these confusing bird names?” Nona, took me seriously.  She said, “Well, Solbit, if you want an answer to your question, you’ll have to go to the Audubon Society’s website to learn about how birds are named.”  I like learning, but I don’t know if I like it that much.  Why can’t she just tell me?

By the way, I should have said that I really liked seeing that bird with its golden-bill.  We see other animals too.  For example, I really liked seeing this one on the ground.

Nona told me the name of this cute little animal.  It has a cute name, too, the “pampas cavy.”

Nona told me the name of this cute little animal.  It has a cute name, too, the “pampas cavy.”

Hey, you’ve seen ladybugs, right?  They’re little round, domed bugs with a black face and an orange body with little black dots.  Talk about cute! Girl, lady bugs make me smile every time I see one.

This bug reminded me of a ladybug, but it’s the wrong color and just a bit too big.  The color reminds me of lemonade. If you know what this bug is, please don’t tell me to look it up. Just send me the name, ok?

This bug reminded me of a ladybug, but it’s the wrong color and just a bit too big.  The color reminds me of lemonade. If you know what this bug is, please don’t tell me to look it up. Just send me the name, ok?

Sometime ago, when we were traveling in the US and visiting Thomas and Nancy in Ann Arbor, Michigan, Papa told me about a cuckoo clock that they had on their wall.  He said a little wooden bird would come out of a little door on the clock each new hour and say “cuckoo-cuckoo.” So, I thought a cuckoo looked like that little wooden bird.

This is the real thing, a living, breathing Guira Cuckoo.  I just love its tail.  Never heard it say “cuckoo-cuckoo” though.

This is the real thing, a living, breathing Guira Cuckoo.  I just love its tail.  Never heard it say “cuckoo-cuckoo” though.

I think that, when your mom was very little and visiting there with Nona and Papa, she grabbed the clock’s chain, pulled, and the clock came crashing to the floor, broke into many pieces never to work again. I’ve noticed that little kids in diapers seem prone to those kinds of accidents, and I’m sure it was an accident. Right?  Anyway, this real cuckoo was in no danger from me.  I don’t wear diapers, and it wasn’t stuck in a clock.  I just liked looking at her. She isn’t really pretty like some other birds, but, still, she is attractive in some way. You don’t have to be pretty to be attractive and appealing, do you?

Bye! I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

October 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

