Solbit sees huge vultures flying below her!

Dear Nicalai,

Nona was pretty excited, “Solbit, we’re off to Colca Canyon, and we’re going to see Andean Condors there!”  “What’re Andean Condors?” I asked, in the most boring tone I could convey.  See, I just wanted to relax on our sunny porch at Killawasi Lodge here in Yanque, Peru.

Nona answered, again very excitedly, “They are very big vultures!”  “Oh,” I said somewhat deflated, “I’ve already seen canyons and vultures. Black vultures. Turkey Vultures. Seeing vultures really doesn’t sound interesting to me.”  Of course, Nona was her usual enthusiastic self.  No stopping her.

So, I didn’t get to kick back on our sunny terrace.  Off we went to see canyon and condor. Well, I have to admit that the canyon was beautiful.

This isn't even the deep part of Colca Canyon . The deep part is twice as deep as the Grand Canyon in the US!

This isn’t even the deep part of Colca Canyon . The deep part is twice as deep as the Grand Canyon in the US!

Nona, Papa, and I hiked down the shallow canyon to the river and then hiked up the other side. We had beautiful views on the steep paths, and, guess what, we weren’t even in the deepest part of the canyon.  Good thing we weren’t, because we would have taken days to hike out of the deep part.

We took a bus ride on a steep and winding road, with a lot of other people, to get to the edge of the steeper part of the canyon.  When we got off the bus, we saw crowds of other people leaning over the edge of the canyon.  We hurried over there.  When we looked down, this is what we saw …

We saw the Andean Condors. It is a type of vulture that likes to eat big dead animals. Oh, yuck! On the other hand, they do clean up messes, don’t they?

We saw the Andean Condors. It is a type of vulture that likes to eat big dead animals. Oh, yuck! On the other hand, they do clean up messes, don’t they?

Yeah, isn’t that amazing that we looked down into the canyon to see the soaring vultures, the Andean Condors, and they are the biggest bird I’d ever seen. I don’t want to say that I was wrong, but the truth is that the sight was not boring.

On our bus ride to and from seeing the Andean Condors, we passed through villages, called pueblos.  Nona explained that the Spanish conquerors made the native people move from their homes scattered across the landscape into these pueblos, so they could be controlled by the Spanish.  So these villages were really not so nice in the beginning.

We saw this church in a pueblo (a village).  Isn’t it pretty?

We saw this church in a pueblo (a village).  Isn’t it pretty?

The Spanish conquerors forced  native people, who were not Christians, to build it and forced them to join the church.  Papa said, “Just the way Jesus would have wanted it!”  The way he said that made me think that he wasn’t serious, though. So, I guess “looks can be deceiving.” On the other hand, “time heals all wounds,” so maybe things are better now. Do you think?

People here enjoy wearing beautifully colored, handcrafted fabrics.  In fact, I got so carried away looking at the clothes that I got fooled.

Here’s a statue that fooled me, for just a second. I had thought, “Wow? That’s a big person carrying that fox!”

Here’s a statue that fooled me, for just a second. I had thought, “Wow? That’s a big person carrying that fox!”

Fooled, again!

Here's a real person who fooled me. I had thought, "Wow, the sculptor really brought that piece to life." Then I realized, "She's a real person."

Here’s a real person who fooled me. I had thought, “Wow, the sculptor really brought that piece to life.” Then I realized, “She’s a real person.”

Anyway, if I were a person, rather than a plastic jurassic, I’d like to wear clothes like those.  I wouldn’t be like Nona and Papa and wear the same boring brown and black and blue clothing all the time.

I think we’re going to make the trip back to Arequipa tomorrow, so I have to help pack now.  Bye!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2012

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

