Solbit’s shocking discovery in Peru

Dear Nicalai,

Before I tell you about my shocking discovery here in Peru, I want to show you another and more pleasant discovery: doors.  I think I hadn’t appreciated doors enough, until Nona and Papa took me to other countries.  Traveling abroad, I’ve discovered that doors aren’t just for walking through walls.  No, doors can also be things of beauty. Let me show you two really nice doors.

One of my favorite sights on our trips to different countries are the doors. Yes, doors. Isn't that odd? But don't you like this one in Arequipa?

One of my favorite sights on our trips to different countries are the doors. Yes, doors. Isn’t that odd? But don’t you like this one in Arequipa?

Yes, we’re in Arequipa now. We saw that door (above) and this one (below) at the Santa Catalina Monastery of nuns here. I think back in the U.S. we would say it is a “convent,” rather than “monastery.”  Right?  Anyway, it is really old. it was built way back in 1579.  Here’s that other door that I liked.

The most simple doorway can be pleasing, if you have the right colors and light. Usually, I like my doors simple.

The most simple doorway can be pleasing, if you have the right colors and light. Usually, I like my doors simple.

Well, those were my pleasant discoveries. Now for my shocking discovery.  We had to go to a plain and simple restaurant, Hatunpa, for me to make this discovery.

At Hatunpa what's on the menu is potato, all kinds of native Peruvian potatoes.

At Hatunpa what’s on the menu is potato, all kinds of native Peruvian potatoes. My new friend, Tica, showed us the different potatoes we’d get in our dishes.

Well, here’s my shocking discovery:  Papa, my travel companion and your grandfather, is the name for “potato” in South America!   They’re even pronounced the same way.  So, when I called “Papa” to get Papa’s attention, it’s not a wonder that people gave me funny looks.  Did they think I was calling for a potato?  (Oh, by the way, did you know that more than 4,000 varieties of potatoes are native to the Andean highlands of Peru, Ecuador, and Bolivia? Isn’t that amazing?)

That restaurant’s name, Hatunpa, means “Big Potato” in the quechua language. They only serve potatoes — all kinds of potatoes — and you can get your choice of all kinds of fillings to put on them, too.

Papa (not the potato) got a tuna sauce on this potatoes, and Nona got a traditional mixed vegetables sauce. Both were really good, too.  Another really good thing was that the restaurant has little flags for all the countries of the world, and, when you sit down, they ask you what country you are from and then put that country’s flag on your table.  We could see people from a lot of different countries at other tables.  Cool, huh?

Peru has a lot of good restaurants, according to Nona and Papa. Being a plastic Jurassic, I wouldn’t know.  I do know that mostly human beings go to restaurants for the food, but not always.  We went twice to another place, the Zig Zag Restaurant and Bar, for the food and for something else, too. Here’s what I mean …

Papa may have liked the view more than the food, and he really did like the food at Zig Zag Restaurant and Bar.

Papa liked the view from Zig Zag Restaurant and Bar as much as he liked the food.

Oh, I forgot. Papa says it is okay for us to continue to call him “Papa” even though he knows it means “potato.”  Nona says that, if you put an accent over the last “a,” like this: “papá”, then it does mean dad or grandfather.  Somehow that accent mark changes how to pronounce the word, she claims.  Anyway, I’m sticking with just “papa.”  Papa doesn’t care, and neither do the potatoes, I’m sure.  Bye!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

