Solbit Says, “Another Inca ruin in Peru?”

Dear Nicalai,

We’re still in Peru, and I wondered why.  We’ve been here so long already.  “Where are we going next?” I asked Nona, and I meant what country was next.  (She’s our travel planner you know.  Well, cousins Tom & Susie help too, but Papa and I are no help at all.  So, that’s why I never bother to ask Papa where we’re going.)

Anyway, Nona replied, “Solbit, I want you to think ‘Pisac rocks,’ because we’re going to Pisac to see big piles of rocks.  Oh, girl, I knew that Pisac is in Peru, too, so we’re staying here. For what? To see a pile of rocks! Who would do that?

I told her, “I know you’re just pulling my little plastic Jurassic leg, Nona. Please tell me where are we really going and what are we going to see.”  She said, “Really, Solbit, just think ‘Pisac’ and ‘rocks.’”

Well, here we are! Pisac and rocks …

If you want to see the Inca ruins at Pisac, then you want to climb some step paths and stairways -- rocky in some places, too.

If you want to see the Inca ruins at Pisac, then you want to climb some step paths and stairways — rocky in some places, too.

Pisac is in The Sacred Valley of Peru. It is rocky, but hundreds of years ago people did amazing things with those rocks.  They turned them into beautiful building materials.  You might even say art. Just look at this window.

After 500 years, a few earthquakes, and pilfering by people, some of this Inca stone work still looks good.

After 500 years, a few earthquakes, and pilfering by people, some of this Inca stone work still looks good.

Isn’t it beautiful in its simplicity, geometric shape, and fine crafting? Wow, I couldn’t make something like that.  Could you?   Papa said, “That’s Inca stone work for you, Solbit.”  Actually, it wasn’t for me. It was for the Incas and hundreds of years ago, but I didn’t correct Papa.  Didn’t want to embarrass him, you know.

Exploring these steep hills to see these ruins makes for hard work and tough decisions.  Here’s a photo of Papa trying to make one of those tough decisions.

That's Papa asking himself, "Do I want to climb another steep hill to that lookout?" Answer: "Nope." But cousin Tom did.

That’s Papa asking himself, “Do I want to climb another steep hill to that lookout?” Answer: “Nope.” But cousin Tom did.

Nona made an interesting observation, “You know, Solbit, usually we think modern ways are better than the old ways, and, of course, often they are, but not always.  Just look at that wall ahead to see what I mean.”

On that back wall, you can see that the old Inca way of laying stones (bottom layer) is much better than the new way.

On that back wall, you can see that the old Inca way of laying stones (bottom layer) is much better than the new way.

Papa added, “Yes, that Inca stone work is a lost art.”  What? It’s not lost. It’s right there in front of me.  I can see it.   Still, I didn’t correct Papa.  It wouldn’t have been polite, would it? We’re off to yet another place in Peru.  Bye!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

July 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

