Solbit Does Quito

Dear Nicalai,

We’re in Quito!  Sorry I missed writing you last week — too busy and also no internet or electricity.  Quito has both!

Papa told me that he went to Quito night after night when he was a boy in Blanchester, Ohio. Yeah, by short wave radio, but now he’s here for real.  Me too!

Papa may have visited Quito by radio, but he couldn't have seen Quito as we can see it in person. 

Papa may have visited Quito by radio, but he couldn’t have seen Quito as we can see it in person.

Look at this would you? You can’t see something like this on a radio. At first I thought they must grow giants in Ecuador. After taking a closer look, I figured out that a regular sized person was inside that huge dress and someone behind “her” was moving the arms. Someone here in Quito has a good sense of humor! They like to amuse us tourists.

They also like their history and their authors here.

An artist painted a mural of a famous author. I have to ask Nona who the author was.

An artist painted a mural of a famous author. I have to ask Nona who the author was.

We’ve been enjoying the street art as we walk around town. We especially liked this one. What do you think about it?

I've seen hummingbirds here, and I've seen old men here, but never this big ... or this flat!

I’ve seen hummingbirds here, and I’ve seen old men here, but never this big … or this flat!

I guess Quito is famous for this statue of an angel overlooking the city. I don’t know whether I believe in angels or not. Do you?

Whether angels exist or not, I can say for sure that this statue of an angel is real, and it is really big.

Whether angels exist or not, I can say for sure that this statue of an angel is real, and it is really big.

We’re all going out to supper tonight to an Indian restaurant, Sher E Punjab, a South Asian restaurant. Our friend Jo picked it out. She spent a lot of time in India, so she knows about the South Asian food. I thought that in Ecuador we would only have Ecuadorian food. Wrong. They have European, African, Japanese, Mexican, and other kinds of food. We’ve even seen hamburgers with French fries. Gotta go. Bye!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

June 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

