The Welcome Mat Is Out for Solbit

Dear Nicalai,

Everyone has warmly greeted us on the Galapagos Islands.  As Nona says, “They put the welcome mat out for us.”  You should come here sometime.  You know what the postcard messages always say, “Wish you were here.”  Well, I do! Wish you were here.

This Nazca Booby beat me to it; she said “Mucho gusto” before I could say it to her.

I wonder if this Booby waits for tourists on this sign all the time.  She sure seemed to expect us.

I wonder if this Booby waits for tourists on this sign all the time.  She sure seemed to expect us.

She invited me to see her babies.  Well, I was excited to see baby Boobies and immediately accepted, but, then, I couldn’t really see her babies.

Her babies were inside these eggs. We would have to come back in days or weeks to see the actual Booby babies. I think the proper terms is Booby “chicks,” but I think Booby babies sounds so much better.  Don’t you?

Her babies were inside these eggs. We would have to come back in days or weeks to see the actual Booby babies. I think the proper terms is Booby “chicks,” but I think Booby babies sounds so much better.  Don’t you?

I thanked her for showing me her eggs.  She’s so friendly.  I’ve taken a liking to Boobies. Now for someone entirely different.

These land iguanas are not cuddly, not at all, and yet, something about them is appealing. I can see why some people like to have land iguanas for pets.

I’m not just talking about their orange color — like mine — being appealing, although that is in their favor. I guess my sense of ancient times gets going when I see a land iguana.

I’m not just talking about their orange color — like mine — being appealing, although that is in their favor. I guess my sense of ancient times gets going when I see a land iguana.

On the other hand, my sense of doom or of pending evil gets going when I see these marine iguanas. “I’m not getting in the water with them!” I declared to our guides.

I overcame my aversion to marine iguanas when I met one, and it said, “Mucho gusto, senorita.”

I overcame my aversion to marine iguanas when I met one, and it said, “Mucho gusto, senorita.”

I shouldn’t have judged those marine iguanas by how they look.  Here they put out the welcome mat for me, Nona, and Papa, but I expected the worst from them.  I should have taken time to get to know them before making a judgment, but they frightened me.  Nona told me that I shouldn’t “judge a book by its cover,” and Papa advised me that “fear is a very unreliable guide.”  I know, but I keep forgetting.

You could have knocked me over with a palm frond, when that marine iguana politely said, “Como estas, seniorita?” I forgot what little Spanish I knew and replied, “Fine, thank you.” Then, can you believe this?  He said, in perfect English, “Miss, I really like your orange scaling. Thank you for brightening my day.” My goodness, am I in paradise, in a dream, or what?  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

April 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

