Solbit Sick at Sea

Dear Nicalai,

Wait a minute … our ship is rolling … I’m not feeling well … wish we could get off this ship … ‘cuse me, be back … oh, I gotta lie down …

When Papa said he got seasick and was using a seasickness patch, I thought, “Hey, too bad for you, but I’m plastic so bring it on!” Big mistake. Jurassic’s like me just were not meant to be at sea.

When Papa said he got seasick and was using a seasickness patch, I thought, “Hey, too bad for you, but I’m plastic so bring it on!” Big mistake. Jurassic’s like me just were not meant to be at sea.

Seasick: that’s pretty much been my first days in Galapagos, when we haven’t been walking or sitting on an island.  Right now I’m sitting with Nona at an internet cafe on shore, just so I can write my letter to you.  I don’t even want to think about our ship or our panga.

Here’s what I do when I’m on our Ecoventura ship, The Eric:

Well, even though I wish it would go away, I have to admit that this Frigate bird is graceful, effortless, and, well, beautiful.

Well, even though I wish it would go away, I have to admit that this Frigate bird is graceful, effortless, and, well, beautiful.

That’s me lying down on the top deck looking straight up into the sky.  That Frigate bird has been flying over me for ten minutes, and I’m beginning to think that it thinks (can Frigate birds think?) that I’m an easy, tasty morsel. What, it’s not enough for me to be seasick; I also have to feel like a tasty tidbit for a big Frigate bird. (Just to be clear. I’m not cursing, I said “F-r-i-g-a-t-e bird.”) Uncomfortable.  That’s what I am.

Then, when we get into our panga (small boat) for an excursion along shore, I’m surrounded by human giants who keep moving around trying to get the best view or best camera angel of some marine animal in the water.

I’m under their butts all the time in this little dingy.

I’m under their butts all the time in this little dingy.

Some of my fellow shipmates are so clueless that they actually invited me to go snorkeling.  “What’s snorkeling?” you ask. That’s where land animals who breathe air  — like human beings — pretend to be marine animals by stuffing big pieces of plastic tubing into their mouths and hard plastic covers over their eyes and jump backwards into water.  They pay money to do that?!

Even Nona and Papa snorkel.  They claim they get great views of fish and other marine life. We iguanodons don’t snorkel.

Even Nona and Papa snorkel.  They claim they get great views of fish and other marine life. We iguanodons don’t snorkel.

Papa’s seasickness patch seems to work for him. I may get one next time, but I’m not going snorkeling. Have you ever gone snorkeling?  Am I being too, you know, too timid?

I’ve got to say that we have just the best crew on our ship ever.  They really want us to learn a lot, to have a good time, and to enjoy our meals.  Every time we come back to the ship, Hugo, the bartender, has snacks and juice waiting for us on deck.  Hugo never smiles, but I still like him.

The crew members tell me that I’ll adjust to the sea and feel better soon.  I hope so.

The crew members tell me that I’ll adjust to the sea and feel better soon.  I hope so. They made this and put it on my bed to cheer me up.

Nona and Papa said we’re going to see some new animals when we go to another island tomorrow.  I hope I’m better by then.  Now I have to send this, because Nona says we have to leave this internet cafe and go back to our panga.  The panga will take us back to our ship…back to my sick at sea feeling and that hovering Frigate bird. Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

April 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Solbit Sick at Sea

Leave a Reply

