Solbit Bumps Into Her Pleistocene Cousins

Dear Nicalai,

As promised, I’m writing from Ecuador!  Hey, you know that line around the middle of our planet — the one called “the equator” or “Zero Latitude?” Well, we’re on it now. Nona and Papa suffer the heat and humidity here, but I kind of like it. So does my distant cousin.

What a beautiful creature! I just love her skin tones! Don’t you?

What a beautiful creature! I just love her skin tones! Don’t you?

She has a family tree going all the way back to the Pleistocene Era, and her family outlived us dinosaurs.  We dinosaurs are extinct, except for me that is. She’s a land iguana and lives in an iguana park across the street from our hotel, the UniPark Hotel, here in Guayaquil.  (Nona and Papa really like the hotel. The staff are really nice to us.) Oh, speaking of family trees reminds me. I want to show you this picture.

I’ve seen iguanas sleeping on high tree limbs, hanging on the side of tree trunks, and haven’t seen one fall yet.

I’ve seen iguanas sleeping on high tree limbs, hanging on the side of tree trunks, and haven’t seen one fall yet.

These iguanas like to climb trees.  Like me, they eat a lot of vegetables.  They enjoy eating leaves. I think the park gardeners like that, because they have fewer leaves to rake up. Also, iguanas seem to like each other a lot. I see the iguanas pile on top of each other. Very social, huh?

Birds enjoy standing on iguanas, and, for some strange reason, the iguanas don’t mind being walked on.

Birds enjoy standing on iguanas, and, for some strange reason, the iguanas don’t mind being walked on.

I wanted to stay in the park and get to know my distant cousins better, but Nona and Papa just couldn’t stand the heat and humidity any longer.  So we went up to our 10th floor hotel room with a view.

The view from our room gave me a good perspective on the iguana park.

The view from our room gave me a good perspective on the iguana park, Parque de las Iguanas.

I noticed that a lot of people enjoy visiting the iguanas and feeding them lettuce, grapes, and other fruit.  The iguanas seem to like the company, too.

Well, that’s my first letter to you from Ecuador, and I had no idea that I’d be writing about iguanas.  Gee whiz, I didn’t even know iguanas existed until we got here or that we are distant relatives.  I wonder what new and strange things I’ll see next. Nona and Papa said that we will go to Galapagos. They said Galapagos is a group of volcanic islands out in the Pacific Ocean, and somebody named Darwin made them famous.  What do you do to make islands famous?  I’m going to find out.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

April 2016

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

