Solbit loves good food as she travels

Dear Nicalai,

All I have to do is whisper to Nona, “Salt and Straw,” and she will immediately think, “ice cream.”  Or, I can whisper to her, “ice cream,” and she will immediately think, “Salt and Straw.” Sometimes, she goes beyond “thinking” to “I’ve gotta have it.” Then off we go to the Salt and Straw ice cream shop to stand in line with a lot of other foodies.  Portlanders do like good food, including desserts!

I especially like going out to the farm for one of those suppers where a local chef comes out from town to cook fresh produce right out of the fields for a whole bunch of guests.  Papa likes that a local beer maker and a local wine maker usually come out too.

Tables set, chairs in place, long shadows indicate late afternoon. Time for an Our Table Cooperative supper on the farm!

Tables set, chairs in place, long shadows indicate late afternoon. Time for an Our Table Cooperative supper on the farm!

Uncle Josh and Aunt Tanya took us out to Our Table Cooperative for one of those dinners.  I got to meet Narendra! He’s the smart guy that got the cooperative going.

The food’s great. Being an herbivore, I can nibble on almost everything, and nobody seems to mind having an iguanodon at the table — well, really, “on” the table would be more accurate, but my feet are small and clean!

The other guests focused on the food so much that maybe they didn’t even notice me.  That’s a bit disappointing, but then I’m not the main attraction.

Tasty food, fine wine, convivial company, gentle sunlight combine for a delightful evening, just before sunset, among the guests.

Tasty food, fine wine, convivial company, gentle sunlight combine for a delightful evening, just before sunset, among the guests.

Actually, the main attraction was the farm produce and the great chef, Joshua McFadden, from Ava Gene’s. He even came over to say hi to us. Fine cook and nice man.  That reminds me of another sign I saw, “It’s nice to be important, but it’s important to be nice.”  Isn’t that true?

Oh, one more thing before I go, speaking of a nice man, Uncle Josh is a fine baker.  He knows that Papa really likes deep dish apple pie.  (I think that’s why Papa likes bike riding, because he can find bakeries along the way with fruit pies.)  So, anyway, Uncle Josh made this for Papa.

Uncle Josh knows how to make and bake a deep dish apple pie.

Uncle Josh knows how to make and bake a deep dish apple pie.

Papa gave me some expert pie eaters’ advice, “Solbit, you just add a little bit of coconut or vanilla ice cream and you have the perfect dessert!”  I’ve tried them both, and he’s right. Well, almost right, I do think the chocolate hazelnut ice cream in a freshly-made waffle cone might be better.  Have you had one of those?

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

September 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

