Solbit Says Goodbye Victoria; Hello Astoria!

Dear Nicalai,

Oh, girl, did we ever get into trouble at the border! I thought Papa was going to jail, but Nona says no, it was worse than that; we might have gotten a $500 fine!  Personally, I think jail would be worse, but Nona does have to watch our budget.

Driving from Vancouver, BC, Papa got us to the border crossing into the US.  He wasn’t familiar with the traffic patterns.  Did you ever make a mistake, realize it too late, and couldn’t get out of it?  That’s what happened.  Papa got into a lane that was only for people who had paid a fee for a special card to let them skip the long lines.  That would have been ok, except for one little thing: Papa didn’t have one of those cards.  He tried to find a way out of the line, but barriers on both sides of the lane made him go right up to the booth where the Border Patrol guy sits.

After a polite scolding and a warning that, if this ever happened again, then Papa would have to pay a big fine, the nice Border Patrol man let us go.  Whew! Even though it was an honest mistake — that’s how Nona described it — Papa had guilty feelings all day for having gotten ahead of everybody.

Now our day got better, we sped down the interstate highway to visit a bunch of friends in the state of Washington.  Girl, Nona and Papa have friends everywhere, and they all like to eat! Real food, mostly plants, and not too much.

Oh, hey, I have to tell you about our amazing find. In Washington, we picked up another friend and drove south to Astoria, OR.  What a beautiful old town!  We were walking along and almost tripped over a sandwich board (it’s a big sign, not something you would eat).  The sign said to come in and visit the restored old theater.  So, we did.  Look at these pictures.

I love the colors and the tone of the light in this chandelier above the theater.

I love the colors and the tone of the light in this chandelier above the theater.

The Liberty Theater is historic — that means old, like Nona and Papa, only even older. They had old paintings on the walls.

DSC03355

Scenes of Venice, Italy hang in this theater way out here in the wild west. Don’t you wonder why?

They showed an old movie.

The theater was running old black and white films of some guy who walked in a funny way; his name was Charlie Chaplin, I think. I guess he was famous.

The theater was running old black and white films of some guy who walked in a funny way; his name was Charlie Chaplin, I think. I guess he was famous.

I liked everything about the theater, and my favorite was the ticket booth at the entrance.

They called this feature a “kiosk.”  I have to look up what that word is.

They called this feature a “kiosk.”  I have to look up what that word is.

After our theater tour, we hurried off to a late lunch at the Blue Scorcher Bakery & Cafe.

They didn’t have any special iguanodon food for me, but that’s ok, few places do have; and Nona & Papa shared their food with me, and, like always, I pretended to eat; it’s the polite thing to do.

They didn’t have any special iguanodon food for me, but that’s ok, few places do have; and Nona & Papa shared their food with me, and, like always, I pretended to eat; it’s the polite thing to do.

Well, pretty soon, we’ll be in Portland, Oregon to see Uncle Josh & Aunt Tanya.  Bye for now.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

