Solbit Cranes Her Neck on A Ducky Day

Dear Nicalai,

How long is your neck? Did you ever think about that? Me neither. Not until today.  Today I met somebody with a really long neck. Her name is Greta Sandhill, but everyone just calls her “Red.”  Can you tell why?

I love that red on the head of sandhill cranes!

I love that red on the head of sandhill cranes!

She’s a Sandhill Crane. When she moved her head, stretching and bending her neck this way and that, she got me to wondering about my own neck. So, I tried moving my neck the way she did. That’s when Nona asked me, “Solbit, why are you craning your neck like that?”  Is that where the word “craning” comes from, the bird that we call a crane? Who knew?

Isn’t Red a pretty bird?  I think I would go out of my way to see a Sandhill Crane again. Have you ever seen one? Oh, here’s another pretty bird.

The lines and colors of the Wood Duck amaze me. How can feathers do that?

The lines and colors of the Wood Duck amaze me. How can feathers do that?

This is “Woody” the wood duck. Guess what, she isn’t made out of wood–just beautiful feathers, flesh and blood, and webbed feet, too! Woody and Red were in the same lagoon that we walked by today. So many ducks paddled around in the lagoon that Papa said they were having “a ducky day.” I guess we’re were having a ducky day too, seeing wood ducks, shovelers (they’re ducks too), mallards, and my list could go on, but I can’t. I have to finish this and go to bed in Nona’s pocket.

I wonder if ducks sleep on land or on water, or both? Do you know?

I wonder if ducks sleep on land or on water, or both? Do you know?

Don’t these two ducks — Gadwalls — look content, maybe even happy?  That’s how I feel when I’m with Nona and Papa walking in the woods by a lagoon and looking at ducks. Papa reads a lot of science articles, and he says that studies have found that those kind of walks actually help to improve people’s health and “state of mind” whatever that is. I thought states were defined spaces on a map. Aren’t they? Sometimes Papa confuses me with things he says. I’m learning to be patient, and all will be revealed to me, eventually.

A funny thing happened as we were leaving the woods today. Papa and Nona saw a bird in the water. They got excited because they had never seen a duck with coloring like this duck has. They could see a new bird being added to their bird list today!

Some ducks are made to fool us.

Some ducks are made to fool us.

When they looked through their binoculars, their spirits drooped. “Oh, that’s not a duck. That’s a decoy. I guess some hunter left it here last year.”  Well, a duck decoy looks like a duck, but it isn’t a duck. Nona and Papa shouldn’t feel bad about mistaking it for a real duck, because even real ducks get fooled by decoys.

OK, Nona’s going to put me into her purse now. I’ve gotta close. Remember, look out for the decoys, don’t be fooled, but please do have a ducky day. Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Solbit Cranes Her Neck on A Ducky Day

  1. Love watching birds!
    I have seen mallards sleep on land.

Leave a Reply

