Solbit’s Unique Jurassic Perspective on Canada

Dear Nicalai,

Oh, Canada! I love you! You’ve taught me so much in the few weeks I’ve been here.  Nicolai, if you come up here, you might become an architect in a jiffy just like me.  Well, you wouldn’t be a Jurassic, but … What would you think if I told you that I just finished building a lighthouse on the beach up here in Victoria BC?  Take a look and tell me what you think.

Sand isn't just for making castles.

Sand isn’t just for making castles.

Isn’t that a terrific lighthouse?  Not what you were expecting.  Sand.  All Sand. You’re asking yourself, “Did Solbit really make that lighthouse out of sand?” Well, the answer is … tah-dah!  No. I just saw it and got Nona to take a photo of it.  But I wonder, “How did someone do that?”

You can guess where we are: at the beach.  Nona and Papa asked me if I wanted to get into the water.  No way! It’s cold up here, even in August.  Beautiful beach. Cold water. Don’t ask me to take a dip.

Beautiful beach. Cold water. Don't ask me to take a dip.

I can’t believe people go swimming here. I even saw kids your ages playing in the water, and they hadn’t turned blue and weren’t shivering.  I shivered just looking at them.

Papa says Canadians have anti-freeze in their blood, but I don’t believe that.  That can’t be true, can it?  Anti-freeze is just for cars, right?

Now here's a big tree with many branches, or should I say limbs? Which is it?

Now here’s a big tree with many branches, or should I say limbs? Which is it?

Besides the beach, we’ve gone back to Government House. They have some fat trees there, like the one in the photo above.  Have you ever noticed all the different shapes and sizes that trees come in?  I guess trees are sort of like people.  From my Jurassic point of view, people come in a lot of different shapes and sizes, and, I can’t say I have a favorite. I like them all.  Hey, look at this.

If totem poles tell stories, why don't we call it a story pole?

If totem poles tell stories, why don’t we call them a story poles?

Do you know what it is?  It’s called a totem pole.  Someone turned a big tree into a pole and then turned the pole into this wonderful sculpture.  Amazing.  Nona says that these totem poles tell stories, if you know how to read them.  I wonder how someone learns to read and write in totem poles.  Maybe instead of a pen and paper you have to have a chainsaw and tree.

Oh, here’s what Government House looks like.  Too big for us.  We wouldn’t like it, but I guess it’s just the right size for Government, whoever she is.

Government House is so big that I could never keep it clean. Too much work to live in that place.

Government House is so big that I could never keep it clean. Too much work to live in that place.

Hey, here’s another big tree.  I’m thinking that no one should cut it down to make a totem pole to tell a story, but …

Why do these big trees make me feel so much at home?

Why do these big trees make me feel so much at home?

… if it were made to tell a story as a totem pole, then I think it would have to be a story about someone with a rather large bottom. Know what I mean?  Gotta go.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

