Solbit Sees Victoria (the city, not the woman)

Dear Nicalai,

I think you’re going to like my first picture in this email.  Here it is:

Among the attractions at Beacon Hill Park  is going to be this woman with a clay body on which moss will grow.

Among the attractions at Beacon Hill Park is going to be this woman with a clay body on which moss will grow.

I’m naming this sculpture “Moss Woman Reclining.”  What do you think?  You’re going to tell me she’s “Reclining Woman Stuck in Mud,” aren’t you?

We saw her on our walk today in Beacon Hill Park.  This park has something to offer everyone.  If you don’t like moss covered women emerging out of the ground, that’s okay.  Then you can enjoy something else, like this.

Looking at trees from a distance gives me a pleasant feeling, but best is getting under them and looking up.

Looking at trees from a distance gives me a pleasant feeling, but best is getting under them and looking up.

Sometimes Papa and I just lie on the ground under these trees and stare up into the beautiful leaves.  I like the different patterns that I see.  I think he likes the part where he falls asleep.

We like walking over to the harbor too.  We talk about which sail boat we like most.  Sometimes we watch the little water taxis (little orange boats in this picture).

A bee hive of activity, something is happening in the harbor all the time.

A bee hive of activity, something is happening in the harbor all the time.

I didn’t take a picture of it, but sometimes the water taxis will do a performance, sort of a ballet of boats. Big ferry boats come and go.  Kayakers paddle by. Sail boats idle out to sea. When I hear the roar of propeller engines, then I know that a seaplane is landing or taking off.

People here like to do things that are fun.  For instance, when we walked over to Cattle Point, we heard piano music in the distance.

As we walked the pathway, the music got louder.  Then we saw it.

My first sighting of a seaside piano was in Canada this summer!

My first sighting of a seaside piano was in Canada this summer!

A man playing an outdoor piano.  Who puts a big piano outside so that anyone can play it?  Canadians, that’s who.  Need I say that we’re enjoying our summer here in Victoria?

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

