Solbit Encounters a Dragon and a Naked Old Lady

Dear Nicalai,

My boring afternoon prompted me to say, “Let’s go for a walk around the harbor and over to Chinatown.”   Of course, Nona and Papa can sit and read or write for hours and hours and not be bored, but what about me?

After suggesting the same thing about 7 times, Nona looked up from her laptop, “I guess we won’t get any peace around here until we take a walk with Solbit.  Let’s go Papa.”  Off we went to Chinatown.

Ever hear the old saying, “Be careful what you wish for?“  No sooner had we arrived in Chinatown than I found myself between these great claws.

DSC02395

For just a moment the claws frightened me, but, almost immediately, I realized, “Oh, this is a wonderful Chinese dragon and just like ones I’d made friends with when we were in China.”

“Hi, what’s your name?” I asked. “Speak up a little louder, please. I can’t hear you from down there when I’m way up here,” replied the dragon.

DSC02397

I had to yell pretty loud so this tall dragon could hear me.

“HI, MY NAME IS SOLBIT,  I SAID. WHAT’S YOUR NAME?” I yelled up to the dragon.  “Oh, how do you do, Solbit, my name is Vicky.”  That surprised me.  I thought a dragon would be a guy, and I expected to hear a Chinese name.  “But aren’t you a Chinese dragon?  Shouldn’t you have a Chinese name?” I asked.

“Well, I’m a Canadian-Chinese dragon, and I’ve never been to China.  I’m from here in Victoria, so that’s how I got the name Vicky.”  “Pleased to meet you,” I said, “I think I’ve met some of your distant relatives in China when we were there in 2012.”  “Yeah, you’ll see a lot of us in China. That’s for sure.  Hey, for a little fella, you get around.”

“I’m no fella.  I’m a girl!” I protested.  “Oh, sorry, I guess I just thought that a dinosaur would be a guy and would have a name like something-saurous.”

Isn’t that funny that we both had assumed that the other one would be a guy and would have a typical name.  Papa said that it’s good that I had that experience and that I want to always keep an open mind when I meet strangers.  I’m going to have to work on that.  We said goodbye to Vicky, but we did go back a few times to see her on our walks in town.

Nona has exposed me to art that is made from found objects and about public or street art.  One of my favorite pieces of art is both made from found objects and is in a public place, Fisherman’s Wharf, in the harbor here in Victoria.  Look.

DSC02390

I imagine that this is made from drift wood that has been shaped and painted or maybe from found buoys.

When I saw this next sculpture, I asked, “What is that, Nona?”  She said, “Solbit, that’s what I would call a flight of fancy.  Don’t you love it?”  I looked again.  I wasn’t really loving it.  I said, “but Nona, that looks like an old woman with her clothes off.”

Despite the fact that Nona loves this sculpture, I can’t say I love it.  In fact, I can’t say I like it.  I think she needs more clothes on.  What do you think?

Despite the fact that Nona loves this sculpture, I can’t say I love it.  In fact, I can’t say I like it.  I think she needs more clothes on.  What do you think?

Oops.  Maybe that’s why Nona loved the sculpture, huh. She’s old.  Maybe when I get old I’ll like it better.  Do you think?  Gotta go.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

August 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

