Solbit’s on top of the U.S. – in Canada!

Dear Nicalai,

Hey, I’m with Nona and Papa in another country!  Did you know that there’s a whole country on top of the United States?  Well, there is.  Just look at a map of North America.  You’ll see that this little plastic Jurassic knows her geography. Have you got a map? Can you see Canada sitting right on top of the U.S.A?  That’s got to be heavy.

Nona says that summer is the time to be outside, and she found us a wonderful place to be outside this summer. Victoria! That’s a city in Canada. It’s on the great big Vancouver Island, and it isn’t on top of the U.S.A, so we’re not adding any weight to the load.

Living on this island in summer is so comfortable, not too hot, not too cold, but just right. We enjoy being outside a lot. We watch things.  When you have a lot of time on your hands, like Nona and Papa have, then you have time to watch things.  Since I’m their traveling companion, guess what I get to do: sit and watch, walk and watch, ride and watch, eat and watch.

When you become an experienced watcher like me, you start to notice things that the inexperienced watcher wouldn’t see.  For example, I notice the difference between moving things, like these Canada geese that we saw in Washington …

Now I know where that saying came from, “Do you have your ducks in a row?”  Except, these are geese, not ducks.

Now I know where that saying came from, “Do you have your ducks in a row?”  Except, these are geese, not ducks.

… and still things like this pretty yellow flower that we saw here in Victoria.

I wish our friend Joyce had been with us to tell us what this flower’s name is; Joyce knows all the plants and flowers.

I wish our friend Joyce had been with us to tell us what this flower’s name is; Joyce knows all the plants and flowers.

Everywhere we go we see moms and dads at rest and then reluctantly in motion, because their children get in motion toward possible danger, like falling off a rock or a big wave coming in.

I wonder what is it about rocks and water that attracts kids to them?

I wonder what is it about rocks and water that attracts kids to them?

I’ve done so much watching with Nona and Papa that even the most boring scenes give me pleasure to watch.  What could be more boring, less appealing, and tedious than this scene?

Why in the world would I be interested in taking a photo of this scene, and, yet, I actually like it.

Why in the world would I be interested in taking a photo of this scene, and, yet, I actually like it.

Rocks and water just doing nothing, and I’m confessing that the scene appeals to me.  Is that pathetic?  I hope not, but, if that’s what you think, I understand.

Sometimes we watch something that is always in the same place. It never moves, and, yet, it is in motion; we see change, and, yet, it never changes places.  We often take photos of those changes.  Guess what I’m talking about, please.  What never moves from its place but is always in motion?

Nona and Papa both say that sunset photos are way overdone in blogs, and they usually don't approve of my using them in my blog, but I insisted this time.

Nona and Papa both say that sunset photos are way overdone in blogs, and they usually don’t approve of my using them in my blog, but I insisted this time.

A sunset!  I think the best place to watch a sunset is outside, and here in Victoria, we get to see some lovely summer sunsets.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

July 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

