Solbit Seeks Peace and Quiet (and then discovers something more)

Dear Nicalai,

Wow! Nona found us a wonderful AirBnB. We’re living in a tree-lined neighborhood in downtown Portland. We walk only a few blocks to be in “The Pearl!” Believe me, this area is a pearl of a place to live. Everything is here.

That’s good and bad. Good because we walk to whatever we want or need: ice cream, coffee shop, foodie places, outfitter stores, post office, and more! Bad because sometimes I can be overwhelmed by all the excitement and stimulation. Hey, and I don’t even drink coffee or any other caffeinated drinks!

No worries, as our Aussie friends say. Why?  Because whenever I need some peace and quiet, we just walk to peace and quiet places nearby.  Here’s one.

At the Lan Su Chinese Garden Papa and I sit quietly and watch this sinking boat.

At the Lan Su Chinese Garden Papa and I sit quietly and watch this sinking boat.

You would think that a sinking boat would make me churn with stress, but something about it calms Papa and me. Every time we go back, the boat lies there. So, it never really sinks. We also like sitting by this place with lily pads.

Lily pads resting on calm water convey a restful feeling to me.  Why is that?

Lily pads resting on calm water convey a restful feeling to me.  Why is that?

Maybe the calm water that holds up the lily pads makes me feel serene, but, then, water isn’t necessary, because so does a dry rural scene like this one on Sauvie Island, another of our favorite places.

If you ever get to Portland, you want to visit Sauvie Island.

If you ever get to Portland, you want to visit Sauvie Island.

Funny thing, I get the impression that other animals like this place on Sauvie Island, too.  Doesn’t this bug look content?

IMG_6234 - Version 2

When I’m here the bugs don’t bug me.

When I told that to Nona and Papa, Nona said, “Solbit, you know that a lot of people think, ‘If I just got this one more thing, then I would be happy, content.’ Then they get that thing, happiness doesn’t come, and they think, ‘Now, if I just got this one more thing, then I’ll find happiness.’  Again and again this cycle repeats.  Guess what, Solbit?  You’ve already discovered the pathway to real happiness. Try to stay on that path.”

“OK, Nona, I think I can do that.  Where’s the path, again?” I replied. Nona said, “Solbit, think about it.” I’m still thinking on what she said.  Do you get it?  If you get it before I do, please let me know.  Thanks. Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

June 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

