Solbit Kicks Back in Portlandia

Dear Nicalai,

Did you ever watch “Portlandia,” the TV series about Portland, OR?  That’s where we are now, in Portland, not in the TV show.   I have one word for that show, “Funny.”  Hey, I’m just a plastic jurassic, and even I get the humor.  What’s so great is that people in Portland enjoy the show, too.  They can laugh at the ridiculous, over-the-top stereotypes of themselves.  I like that about the wonderful people here.

Another thing I like about Portland. It’s motto is “Portland Works.”  They do work hard here.  Yet, unlike so many working places in this country, they also know how to kick back, relax, and have fun.  That makes them more productive and happy.  I can tell by the smiles on their faces as we walk around town and by how friendly and helpful everyone is to us.  No wonder Uncle Josh and Aunt Tanya decided to settle here.

Well, I’ve got some pictures of myself for you.  They show me doing what Portlanders know how to do so well:  Kick Back and Relax.

I chose this flower for my meditation time.  I assume my pose and let go of all my cares and try to be at one with this lovely flower.

I chose this flower for my meditation time.  I assume my pose and let go of all my cares and try to be at one with this lovely flower.

A favorite place of mine for relaxing is Portland’s International Rose Test Garden.  Anyone is welcome to come here to enjoy the roses.

IMG_6207

I start appreciating the rose flower as I approach it.

 

Once I’m at the flower — and because I’m so tiny — I’m allowed to actually climb on the delicate rose flower.  Now, you can’t do that.  You’re too big. So don’t do what I do.  OK?

Once I’m at the flower — and because I’m so tiny — I’m allowed to actually climb on the delicate rose flower.  Now, you can’t do that.  You’re too big. So don’t do what I do.  OK?

 

When I’m standing on a rose flower, I can get a perspective on the garden, and, if the wind blows, the rose lifts me up and down, up and down…I can get sea sick, but not always.

When I’m standing on a rose flower, I can get a perspective on the garden, and, if the wind blows, the rose lifts me up and down, up and down…I can get sea sick, but not always.

 

The soft caress of the rose petals promotes relaxation.

The soft caress of the rose petals promotes relaxation.

Another thing, when I go back to Uncle Josh and Aunt Tanya’s after sitting in these roses, they always say, “What’s that lovely scent I’m smelling now?”  Then I surprise them by saying, “That’s me! I just returned from relaxing in the roses!” Then one of them will put me on her or his shoulder, inhale deeply, and say, “I love the smell of roses in the morning!”  Me too.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

June 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Solbit Kicks Back in Portlandia

  1. Portlandia performs a very important feat of social compartmentalizing: it keeps morons at home in front of screens so the rest of us can enjoy a pleasant hike or quiet evening out.

    Portland’s well-known motto is Keeping Portland Weird. It’s on t-shirts, bumper stickers, buildings, tattoos, craft brews, pretty much everything standing still and a few things that are not. No one has ever uttered the words “Portland works” together in a sentence except perhaps in response to the question, “Where do you want to do Oktoberfest, Seattle or Portland?”

    • Thanks for your wonderful comments on my post! Nona and Papa are huddled around her laptop right now laughing at the signs & blazes for the modern outdoorsman post on your blog. So I can’t get their attention now to edit my reply. I’m just going to hit the reply button without their ok.

Leave a Reply

