Solbit discovers her fortune

Dear Nicalai,

Hey, do you know what a fortune cookie is?  Well, I didn’t.  Nona and Papa took me to a Chinese restaurant here in Bend, Oregon.  At the end of our meal, our waitress gave each of us a little wax paper package. “What’s that?” I asked, and Nona said, “Solbit, it’s a fortune cookie.”

Like I knew what a fortune cookie was. “What’s a fortune cookie?” I replied.  Papa jumped in, “Open it, Solbit, and find out.”  Very funny.  “Papa, you know very well that my little plastic arms can’t open that package.  Will you open it for me, please?”  He did.

Inside, we found a crunchy sort of pocket cookie, and, when Papa broke it open for me, I found a little slip of paper inside with writing on it.  This is what it said.

“A four-wheeled adventure will bring you happiness,” the fortune cookie told me.

“How did they know? How could they possibly have known that we’re on a road trip in a car?  How could they know that our trip is making us happy?” I asked in amazement.

Papa and Nona just giggled, then Nona paid the bill, and we left.  I still don’t know how the cook or the baker in that kitchen could know that our road trip brings us happiness.  What’s happiness?

Here’s happiness.  One afternoon, Papa and I sat down on a bench in Shelvin Park by Tumalo Creek.  We enjoyed the shade of the tall pines and the gurgling sounds of the creek.

Papa and I like to sit and be quiet in places like this.

Papa and I like to sit and be quiet in places like this.

Papa fell asleep, but I didn’t.  If you sit quietly and watch, you can see all kinds of birds, mammals, little bugs, and even a slithering snake.  If fish were swimming in the creek, I didn’t see them, but that doesn’t mean they weren’t there.

I just love days like this, when we walk in the woods, sit by streams, and, as Nona says, “walking is good for what ails you.” I have no idea what she means. Do you?

I get this view a lot when I'm in Nona's pocket on hikes.

I get this view a lot when I’m in Nona’s pocket on hikes.

Every walk we take, I learn something new and see something new.  For example, did you know that pine trees, at least some, have blossoms?  I didn’t, not until we took our hike in Shelvin Park.

My first pine blossom sighting and it's a pretty one.

Look at this pine blossom. Isn’t it pretty?

Well, I still don’t really know the answer to my question “What’s a fortune cookie?” but that fortune cookie I got at the Chinese restaurant sure knows something about me:  four-wheeled adventure with Nona and Papa has led me to happiness.  Think about it, I could have been left lying around in the Photojojo shop or Nona and Papa could have dropped me in their waste bin.  Instead, I’ve gotten to travel with them to strange places, make new friends, and learn things.  How lucky am I?

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

May 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

