Solbit exclaims, “It’s almost a family reunion!”

Dear Nicalai,

This letter may sound depressing, but, if you read all of it, it has a good ending.  I promise.

Maybe Papa or Nona have told you that I’ve been down in the dumps lately.  Don’t misunderstand, please.  I love them and you, but I kinda wish I had another family.  Oh, I want to be in your family.  What I mean is, I’d also like to have a family that, well, that looks more like me.  Sadly, as Papa explained, dinosaurs have gone extinct.  So, that’s not going to happen.

When he said that, I just crumbled. Not really crumbled, of course.  I’m a plastic jurassic, and plastic doesn’t crumble. No, I mean, emotionally, I crumbled.  Nona said, “Solbit, you look like you need a good walk.  Let’s go to Tule Lake!”  I replied that I’d rather just stay home and mope, thank you.

Of course, when Nona decides that you’re going to do something, you’re going to do something.  Off the three of us went to the lake.  I put on a good pout to show her that I was not pleased.

Almost as soon as we started walking at Tule Lake — that’s near Klamath Falls, CA where we’re staying, now — we started seeing different birds.

Lower Klamath NWR and Tule Lake NWR

First, we saw the long-billed dowitchers, pictured here. They are common at Tule Lake, but they were new birds for Nona and Papa. Me, too.

Lower Klamath NWR and Tule Lake NWR

Then we saw the American coot and the white pelican.

“Solbit, did you know that scientists think that these birds are modern day dinosaurs?” Papa asked me.  I glumly grumbled, “No way, Papa.  You’re making that up.”  Nona jumped in to back up Papa,  “Yes, Solbit, the scientists now think that today’s birds have a common ancestor in the dinosaurs.”

Then I understood what Papa said. It’s called an “Ah, ha!” moment.  I literally said, “Ah, ha! Does that mean that I could be related to these birds?”  Papa told me, “Yes, Solbit, you could say that, and guess what.  Some scientists now think that maybe some dinosaurs even had feathers.”

Well, my spirits soared. By the time we saw this American avocet, I blurted out, “Wow, coming to Tule Lake is sort of like a family reunion for me!  Isn’t it?”

Could the American avocet be a distant relative of mine?

Could the American avocet be a distant relative of mine?

“You could say that, I guess,” Papa answered. So, the next thing you know, I’m talking to Nona and Papa about planning another family reunion here for me, real soon. “Can we please come out here to the lake for another walk?” I asked.

Lower Klamath NWR and Tule Lake NWR

This bird is called a kildeer, but I’m sure it doesn’t hunt deer.  It’s too small and delicate. Wonder how it got its name?

The sun was setting on the lake, and we had to leave, but we could see more and more of my distant relatives flying into the lake to spend the night.  To see them flying in from different directions to spend the night here gave me a good, warm feeling, and I realized then that Nona was right — as she often is — what I needed was just a good walk to lift my spirits.  I’m glad I went on the walk with them today.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

May 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

