Solbit wonders, “What strange places are you taking me?”

Dear Nicalai,

I feel like we’ve been traveling and traveling north and away from you guys in California.  And we have, but, can you believe – we’re still here – in California that is.  What a big state!

No complaints though. Look at that beautiful bridge. It’s called the Sundial Bridge.

I don’t think the Sundial Bridge looks like a sundial, but, then, I don’t think Turtle Bay looks like a turtle either.

I don’t think the Sundial Bridge looks like a sundial, but, then, I don’t think Turtle Bay looks like a turtle either.

We’ve been driving in Nona and Papa’s old beat up Honda Civic, that’s an automobile, you know. It’s 20 years old. Don’t tell Nona and Papa that I said this, but it looks like junkyard material.  The air-conditioning is broken. No problem for me, I’m plastic, but Nona and Papa are old and the car gets hot. I asked them, “Why don’t you get that fixed?” Papa said, “Costs too much.” Nona said, “Have to stay within our budget.”  I’ve got a word for that: “penny pinchers.”

DSC00512

The views as we drive north in California are great, but, oh, girl, the car is hot without air conditioning.

Oh, hey, here’s a question: What are Red Bluff, Weed, and Klamath Falls?  If you said, a red cliff, a plant nobody wants, and a place where water falls over a cliff, then you would be WRONG! They are towns we’ve stayed in along the way. Strange place names, huh?

I wondered, “Why go to these towns?” – but then overheard them talking excitedly, “60 species today and 5 that are new to us! Wow!”  Well, you know what they’re excited about: birds.  Just say the words “White-fronted goose” or “Bullock’s Oriole” and binoculars materialize in front of their eyes before you can say “Stop It.”  They like watching birds.  I heard someone call them “Twitchers” when we were in Australia.  Yes, I did.

Well, birds are ok, but, for me, I like the long view, like this one of Mount Shasta that we got to see as we drove up the road toward Oregon.

DSC00542

Sitting in our hot car looking out to that cold snow covered mountain peak.  Ah, so good.

We’re almost at our next stop, something about “a dead volcano.” Do I want to go see “dead” things?  I’ll let you know next time.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

April 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

