A Wild Day in Palo Alto

Dear Nicalai,

Well, didn’t we have a good time at the Palo Alto Junior Museum and Zoo. Nick, when you snuggled with that bobcat cub, I thought, “He’s going to ask to take it home with him.”

DSC00269

Nick loved the wild bobcat cub.

Good thing you didn’t, it’s a statue and bolted into the ground!  Although, I could see you trying to muscle it out of the ground, and, then, oh, boy, we would have gotten into trouble.

Fortunately, Nona called us all over to see one of my distant cousins.

DSC00263

The tortoise can go almost anywhere in the wild and still be at home, because it carries its home everywhere.

“Hey, what’s this African spurred tortoise doing in California,” I asked Nona.  “You think it swam all the way across the oceans?”  Luke calmly and rationally explained that some human being had almost certainly collected it in Africa as a “specimen” and flew it here on a commercial airliner.  Luke knows things.

Gosh, remember how we all felt so sorry for this poor bird? “A raptor,” Luke said.  It had been injured and couldn’t fly.  “Flying is how a raptor makes it’s living,” Luke explained.  “An injured raptor would die if left in the wild.”

DSC00287

“Nona, quick! Put me in your pocket or the raptor will eat me!” I yelled too loud, but the nice woman said I was safe. The poor bird can’t fly.

So, we were happy that the Museum and Zoo has made a home for this bird and that it has someone to make sure it is happy and healthy. What I just wrote makes me wonder, can birds be happy or sad? Luke, I bet you know, so please write me about that.  Thanks! I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

April 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

