Solbit Is Making Friends on the California Coast

Dear Nicalai,

It happened suddenly. Without warning. Whoosh! Papa lurched backward in Nona’s and my direction. “What was that!” Nona cried out. Our friend Henriette stifled a laugh. I think she knew what would happen. Papa caught his balance and turned to face us.

DSC03828

Mochambo the Llama is a champion spitter, for sure.

“That was the Llama spitting in my face.  Wow, Mochambo (name of Llama) must have a powerful diaphragm,” Papa said, with respect, admiration, and perhaps a tinge of fear.

DSC03867

Scooby jumped a little and barked, as if saying, “Do it again Mochambo!”

Right away, I knew I liked both Mochambo and Scooby, and we became instant friends. “Yeah, Mochambo,” I said, “please spit in Papa’s face again. That was so funny!  You really surprised him!”  Mochambo declined though, “I have to wait until another time when he’s not expecting it.  Bring him around tomorrow, and maybe we can surprise him again.”  Alright!

Well, I’ve been making one friend after another as we travel up the coast of California.  I’m surprised where I find them.  For instance, the other day, I was looking at a hole in the ground, and just before I could ask Nona what’s that hole for, this guy popped out.

Digger the gopher makes his home by, you guessed it, digging a tunnel in the ground, and he makes rooms underground for his nest.

Digger the gopher makes his home by, you guessed it, digging a tunnel in the ground, and he makes rooms underground for his nest.

“Hey, I’m Solbit, what’s your name?” I asked.  “Digger’s my name. Mucho gusto!  You know that’s Spanish for “pleased to meet you”, and I am.”  I guess California gophers are bilingual.  I wish I was.

Everywhere we go, we meet strangers, and, then, when we part, we’re friends.  The thing is that you have to go out to meet strangers face to face, and, then, you can make new friends.  Sometimes, though, it’s hard to meet strangers.

DSC03840

I was pretty sure someone was out there in those flowers, but we needed to get closer.

For example, I have the hardest time making friends with strange birds, don’t you?  By the time I get close enough to say hello, zoom, they’re flying away.

This California towhee let me get a good look, but flew away before I could greet her (or was it a him?).

This California towhee let me get a good look, but flew away before I could greet her (or was it a him?).

Even though the birds usually fly away before we meet, I think that we could be good friends.  You know, maybe they just need their space.  I think I can be their friend by just admiring them and giving them their space.  Right?

One more thing: I am so glad that you are my friend and that I can write you about what I’m doing, feeling, and thinking.  You’re the best.  Thanks!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

 

Solbit

March 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

