Solbit’s colored view

Dear Nicalai,

When ever someone asks me, “Solbit, what is your view on coordinating colors?” I like to begin my reply with, “Nature.…”  I think Nature does so well putting together colors that go well with each other, don’t you?  You can see Nature’s color sense at work in this photo.

Even the plants and insects seem to be color coordinated! I told Papa, “This bee and I obviously have something in common. Look how it wants to be close to that yellow in the flower.”

Even the plants and insects seem to be color coordinated! I told Papa, “This bee and I obviously have something in common. Look how it wants to be close to that yellow in the flower.”

“I hate to burst your bubble, Solbit, but something else is going on here.  Actually, I may burst two of your bubbles.  First, what that bee wants to get close to is the flower’s pollen, and, second, that flower is both Nature and human designed, because some person bred that flower to look like that,” Papa explained.

I stood my ground though, “Well, the bee likes yellow then because yellow tells the bee where the pollen is, and Nature made human beings, as well as flowers, so the person was working with Nature, not alone, right.”  Papa stared at me and muttered, sort of to himself, “From the lips of a Plastic Jurassic.” I’m counting that as a win for me!

Take another example about Nature and color. We saw this lovely flower recently at the LA Arboretum.

Isn’t she lovely?  Even if this flower didn’t complement my beautiful orange complexion, I would still say she is lovely.

Isn’t she lovely?  Even if this flower didn’t complement my beautiful orange complexion, I would still say she is lovely.

I thought the next flower didn’t go with my complexion, but Nona said, “Solbit, I think this flower’s light lime-green and your orange actually work.”  I’m pretty sure that “actually work” means “go together,” not hard labor.  (Papa is working with me on something he calls idioms, and I think maybe that’s an idiom.)  Oops, there I go getting off the topic.  Back to colors.

J Paul Getty Museum (and gardens)

Saw this at the J Paul Getty Museum (and gardens). I guess ants like lime-green too.

DSC03436

I’m partial to yellow and red, especially when they come together the way they do in this flower.  Nature just has a way with color.

When we walk in this Pasadena neighborhood, I feel especially at home.  Can you guess why?

Yeah, all that orange makes me just feel like I belong here.  Don’t get me wrong though, if I were green, or any other color, I could still belong here.  I don’t think it is natural to discriminate or exclude others by color.  We all belong here.  I’m just saying how the color seems to welcome me.

Yeah, all that orange makes me just feel like I belong here.  Don’t get me wrong though, if I were green, or any other color, I could still belong here.  I don’t think it is natural to discriminate or exclude others by color.  We all belong here.  I’m just saying how the color seems to welcome me.

Now, before I say goodbye, I’m going to show you a flower that we saw, and it was not the color that attracted me. I just love it’s name.  Nona says that it is a “passion flower.”

Look how Nature put together all those lovely shapes into one delicate flower. What a sense of design!

Look how Nature put together all those lovely shapes into one delicate flower. What a sense of design!

When I said that about Nature’s design sense to Papa, he said, “Yes, Solbit, Nature could teach architects and engineers a lot about design, if only they’d take the time to look and to listen.”  I wonder what is he talking about.  Does that make any sense to you?  He says some weird things sometimes, but I still like him.  Know what I mean?  Bye for now!

I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

March 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

