Solbit chooses art

Dear Nicalai,

“The naked woman behind Nona!”  That’s how I answered Papa’s question, “Solbit, what was your favorite experience here at The Getty today?”  Yeah, that had to be the best.  Although, even better might have been if Nona had taken his suggestion.

IMG_5136

Reclining Woman by Aristide Maillol

After he took this photo of her and the naked woman, he said, “Now, take off your clothes and lie on your hip like her, and I’ll get both of you in the same pose.”  But, she didn’t take his suggestion.  Instead, she said, “Your pushing your luck, Buster! Let’s move on.” I like it when Papa asks me questions like that.  He’s not doing it like a teacher to get me to learn something.  No, he asks because he is really interested in what I’m thinking and how I experience things.  I like that. He also asked me, “And what was your least favorite experience here at the Getty?”  That was easy to answer.  “That poor little frog being caught in the boys fingers. He wants to get away so much, but the boy won’t let him go. I felt so bad for the little frog, but we couldn’t help him. Could we?” “No, Solbit, we couldn’t change that sculpture to let the frog go,” Papa explained, “but I bet the artist would be pleased that his sculpture made you feel like that.”

IMG_5137

Boy with Frog My “let it go” thoughts didn’t help.

Isn’t it odd how a piece of cold stone, shaped by hand, can turn on an emotion in me, even though I know it’s not real? How can art do that?  It made me think too.  I thought, if I had fingers and a hand, I wouldn’t do that to a helpless frog, and I wondered what makes that boy do that? As we drove to our next destination, Papa asked me, “Solbit, if you could take home anything that you saw today at The Getty, what would it be?” Another easy question to answer: “I’d take the Central Garden.”  Nona jumped in, “Me too!”

Robert Irwin’s not just any gardener but like many a gardener he’s an artist.

Robert Irwin’s not just any gardener but like many a gardener he’s an artist.

Papa laughed, “Well, girls, I hate to tell you, but I don’t think it would fit into the trunk of our Honda Civic.”  “No, but a girl can dream, especially when she’s in California, can’t she?” I replied.  “Dream on, girl,” Papa said, and we sped up Route 1 on our way to San Jose. I’m your friend.

Love,

signature

 

 

 

Solbit

March 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

