Solbit’s Second Thoughts about the Desert

Dear Nicalai,

“Do I have to go?”  That was my first thought.  I almost said it, too.  Nona and Papa had just said, “Solbit, early buttonholes tomorrow. We’re going to the Anza-Borrego Desert!”  Hey, I don’t wear clothes, so I don’t have to button anything, but who wants to get up early to see a big, hot, dusty, empty expanse of crunched up rocks?

Anza-Borrega Desert State Park is in the Colorado Desert, but it’s not in the State of Colorado. No, it’s in southern California.  That confused me.

Anza-Borrega Desert State Park is in the Colorado Desert, but it’s not in the State of Colorado. No, it’s in southern California.  That confused me.

Then, I remembered our short excursion in the desert gardens at Rancho Mirage.  Wow, I had so much to see, and it was tiny.  So, my second thought was, and I did say this, “Can’t we just leave now? I can’t wait to see the desert again.”  Nona said, “No, we have to get our sleep tonight.”  That’s a problem with humans, you know.  They need their sleep.  We plastic Jurassics don’t sleep.

Our morning drive from Palm Springs to Borrega Springs took about two hours.  I kept saying, “Step on it, Papa!” He’d just say, “Speed limit, Solbit.  Gotta obey the traffic law.”  “Well, what about all those cars and trucks zipping by you?” I asked.  Nona said, “Solbit, remember that you don’t do what everyone else does.  You do what you know is right. Understand?”  I replied, “I guess.”

Anza-Borrego State Park

The outside covering of the cactus plant is tough and waxy to hold in water, so it won’t dry up in the hot sun.

Pretty soon, Nona had me on this rock out in the desert staring a this amazing plant.  Someone said that I could call it a “Beavertail Cactus” because its sections are wide and flat like a beaver’s tail.  By the way, I didn’t see any real beavers here in the desert, I think they need more water and less heat.

Oh, darn, Nona and Papa are going on another of their walks.  I have to close this letter now.  My next letter will be a lot more about our walk in the Colorado Desert, but, remember, we were in California all the time, not in Colorado.  Isn’t that confusing?  Why isn’t it called the California Desert?  That’s question for me to ask Nona.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

February 2015

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

