Is New Jersey for Solbit? Maybe Not or Maybe

Dear Nicalai,

When we got off the Greyhound Bus in Mt. Laurel, New Jersey, everything seemed normal.  When Cousin Susie and Tom picked us up in their car, everything still seemed normal, too, but, by the time we reached their home in Pittsgrove, something weird happened. Cousin Susie and Tom showed us their newly renovated kitchen.  Wow! Really nice.  Then Susie excused herself “…for just a minute.”

DSC01823

After many years of “discussion,” Cousin Susie and Tom renovated their kitchen.

When Cousin Susie came back into the kitchen, she wasn’t herself anymore.  No, she was an iPhone!

See what I mean? Weird, huh?

See what I mean? Weird, huh?

Now, I’m afraid to leave the kitchen myself.  Who knows what Cousin Susie’s house would change me into?  Imagine me as a blue-tooth earpiece for that iPhone.  No way I’m leaving this kitchen, I thought.

Gee, things had been going really well up to that point.  At the bus station, Papa loaded our luggage into their car.  Tom drove us all to a wonderful art center, The Perkins Center for the Arts. That’s where I went to my first ever fundraiser! Fundraisers are also Funraisers. Get it?

They raise funds for the Food Bank of South Jersey and for an Arts Scholarship.  Know how they do it?  Empty Bowls.  Yep, artists make beautiful ceramic bowls and give them to the Center.  Then others make huge pots of homemade soup.  All kinds of soup. Once you buy a soup bowl, you can get any kind of soup  you want.

Nona and Papa bought soup bowls, and the volunteers filled the bowls with delicious soup.  What a great idea for the December Holidays.  Right?  Then everybody sits around and talks and talks and talks.  So, as I was saying, everything was normal up to that point.

Then we drove to Cousin Susie and Tom’s home, and the next thing I know, Susie wasn’t Susie any more.  I was upset.  Everybody else was laughing at what had happened to her.  “What’s so funny about a human being turning into a handheld phone?” I asked.  “We’ve lost Cousin Susie, and I only just met her!”

Jokes on me, of course.  Turns out she was just showing Nona and Papa her award winning 2014 Halloween Costume.  You’d think she might have told me before she put that thing on.  My first impression of New Jersey might have been better, less weird.

Since I thought maybe I should give New Jersey a second chance, I googled it to learn more.  What a surprise! I found out that New Jersey has a Jurassic past, just like me!  Yeah, here’s what Wikipedia said, “Around 180 million years ago, during the Jurassic Period, New Jersey bordered North Africa. The pressure of the collision between North America and Africa gave rise to the Appalachian Mountains.”  Now I’m thinking maybe New Jersey is my kind of state. We’ll always have Jurassic in common, if you know what I mean.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

December 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

