Solbit wonders what’s a “Big Apple?”

Dear Nicalai,

When we got on the Bolt Bus in Philadelphia, they told me we were going to a place called Manhattan, but I suspected a deception when I overheard Nona and Papa saying we soon would be “…in The Big Apple.”  In an apple for goodness sake.  No way.

Then I heard Nona say that she couldn’t wait to see the new apartment of our friends, John and Angela, “…on the Upper West Side.”  West side of what?

Well, their deception upset me, and I put my foot down.  “Hey, wait a minute, I thought you said we’re going to Manhattan!”  Papa said, “Solbit, we’re almost there, and you’re gonna like it.”  We stepped off the bus, and the next thing I know I’m looking at this guy.

This is certainly the tallest and heaviest resident of Manhattan I met on this visit.

This is certainly the tallest and heaviest resident of Manhattan I met on this visit.

“Where are we?” I asked.  Nona said, “Solbit, you’re in The Big Apple.  That’s another name for Manhattan. You are in Manhattan.”  Papa added, “Yeah, and we’re on the Upper West Side, too. That’s a neighborhood of Manhattan.”  “Oh, now I get it. You weren’t deceiving me, were you?” I said.

Right away, we walked to John and Angela’s apartment, and then they took us for a walk in their new neighborhood.  Wow, what a city.  It has a lot of concrete, glass, brick and asphalt, but, oh, what a lovely park.

This entrance to Central Park made me feel welcome.

This entrance to Central Park made me feel welcome.

Central Park has fountains, ponds, walking paths, and, of course, a lot of people, birds, and squirrels, too.

DSC01794

I think Manhattan has to do a lot of maintenance here to keep it so nice.

My favorite view in the park was these trees in winter, but I didn’t see any apple trees.  No apples. Wonder why they call this place The Big Apple?

I love the way the bare tree limbs fill the space so gracefully.

I love the way the bare tree limbs fill the space so gracefully.

Of course, Manhattan isn’t all park, it has streets, office buildings, and traffic.  Oh, also, noise.  Very noisy in some places.

DSC01802

I liked the clear blue stars hanging in the huge glass lobby of this building.

Well, we’re leaving Manhattan tomorrow and going to someplace called New Jersey.  I haven’t even seen the Old Jersey yet, but already we’re seeing the new one.  So, it’s goodbye to John and Angela and hello to Nona’s cousin Susie and her husband Tom.  I’ll write again soon.  Bye. I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

December 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

