Solbit Does Washington, DC and Has A Capital Time

Dear Nicalai,

We’re here, Washington, DC. The nation’s capital!  Nona and Papa lived here for 22 years, but this place is all new to me!  Uncle Tom and Aunt Barbara picked us up at Washington National airport. We’re here in time for the Thanksgiving Holiday.

IMG_4252

Papa never thought his farm boy’s trophy would end up as a Thanksgiving table center piece in Washington, DC, but it did.

 

That’s Aunt Barbara’s center piece for our Thanksgiving Day feast.  Isn’t it unusual?  Know what it is?  I’ll tell you: a trophy that Papa won when he was a farm boy in an Ohio 4-H club.  Yeah, he had a girl beef cow (he says “breeding heifer,” whatever that is).  He showed her in a contest at the Clermont County Fair way back in the 1960s.  He won something called “best in show” with her.

Oh, one more thing, his breeding heifer looked just like the larger of these two figures on the trophy, and she had a strange name, “Potsie.”  I wish I could have named her.  I would have named her “Ms Chloe” or “Ms Bella.”  Something dignified.

DSC09662 - Version 2

Papa’s cow trophy brought back memories for me of our bike ride in the Netherlands (Holland), when these bulls came out to see us.

 

Speaking of beef cattle, we didn’t have meat for our Thanksgiving meal.  Papa and Nona are “pescatarians.”  Big word for me.  It means they don’t eat meat — just all kinds of plants, vegetables, fruit, nuts, beans, and some seafood.  Me? I’m an iguanodon (a type of dinosaur), and we’re “herbivores.” We only eat plants.  Of course, I’m plastic, and plastic model animals like me don’t eat.  Period.  Still, I like sitting at the table at meal time having a conversation.  Here’s what the whole table looked like.

DSC01696

Isn’t it pretty?  Uncle Tom and Barbara sure know how to cook and set a table.

 

Uncle Tom carefully selects music for the evening, from beginning to end of the meal.  That music and candle light seem to please everyone around the table — even me.

DSC01692

I took this Thanksgiving family portrait. Pretty good, huh? Front: Nona, Papa, Aunt Barbara, and Aunt Pat. Back: Uncle Tom and Uncle Jim. (They’re really tall.)

 

I have to apologize to you.  I was supposed to write to you this time with a look-back on our our around-the-world trip, but I’m having a very tough time picking just a few of my favorite places and photos.  Looking back on our trip, it seems like every place we went and everything we did was my favorite.  Maybe I’ll have sorted it out by next time. Gotta go sort through all my trip photos.  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

November 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

