Solbit Asks, “Is That All There Is?”

Dear Nicalai,

Our cruise ship just docked at Ft. Lauderdale, Florida.  We’re back in the USA!

DSC01238

Papa loved the ports of call, because he could get off the cruise ship. He wasn’t always the first one off, but he tried to be.

Papa said, “Well, Nona, put Solbit back into your purse, we have to get our bags, hop in a taxi, and run to the airport.”

I said, “Oh, no, Papa!”  He looked at me with concern, “What? You don’t want to get into Nona’s purse?”  I answered, “Papa, I like riding in Nona’s purse, but I don’t want our around-the-world trip to be over. I’d start crying right now, if only I weren’t a plastic Jurassic. Is that all there is?”

DSC09691

Parting is such sweet sorrow, and I didn’t want to leave our beautiful cruise ship, but our cruise had ended, our around the world trip had finished, and I hated to have it end. End it did, in Nona’s purse pocket.

Nona held me up to her face.  She brushed the top of my tiny red head (Oh, yeah girl, I’m a red head.) She explained, “Solbit, our around-the-world trip is over now, but our flight this morning will take us to Washington, DC. So, no, that’s not all there is for you.” I asked her, “You mean that I’m going to get to see those big monuments and that big domed government building. What’s it called?”

IMG_5193

This big domed building has a name, The Capitol, and it is in the capital of the USA. The wind was strong the day I took this photo.

“You’re talking about the Capitol, that’s the big government building. Yes, you’ll get to see it and walk all around it, too.”  Oh, boy, we’ll be in an another new (for me) city tonight! That would be Washington, DC, the nation’s capital with it’s Capitol!

On our flight this morning, I’m going to try to remember all my favorites from our around the world trip.  I’ll collect them all and let you know what they are. I guess my next letter to you be from there.  Bye, we’re off to see the Wizards of Washington.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

November 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

