Solbit Asks, “Would you call that color ‘Cruise Ship Green?’”

Dear Nicalai,

The waiter had only just delivered Papa’s supper entree, when Papa stood up, wobbled a bit, said, “You’ll have to excuse me,” and hurried out of our cruise ship’s Silhouette Restaurant.  Nona, and the other couple at the table, Nancy and Willy, looked at each other and wondered what was that all about.

DSC01452

Despite the calm sea, Papa got hit by a BIG wave of seasickness.

 

I asked them, “Would you call that color on Papa ‘“Cruise Ship Green?”  You see, I thought I knew right away what that was all about. Remember, I told you he turns green when he gets seasick.  Oh, boy, was he ever.

You might think the cruise has been terrible for us, because of that seasick episode or because of the terrible ship’s cold that Papa and Nona caught, but you’d be wrong.  We’ve been having a great time, especially me!

DSC01233

When he wasn’t seasick, Papa played a pretty good game of bean bag toss–right next to the real lawn, with real crickets, where he and Nona played bocce.

 

Lounging by the pool in the sun room and reading or napping was a favorite activity.

DSC01548

Here’s a rare instance when Papa wasn’t napping on the lounge chair. That’s Nona’s favorite place to edit photos and draft blog posts.

 

The cruise ship has a real lawn (with real crickets! girl, they are loud at night) on its top deck.  Nona and Papa played bocce up there with Matt from Idaho and Werner from Toronto.

What did I do?  I enjoyed just looking out to the open sea.  I could sit and stare out to sea for hours and not get tired of it.  Of course, being a plastic Jurassic has it’s advantages; I don’t get seasick like Papa.  In fact, I don’t get seasick at all.  So I can watch the sea go up and down, up and down, up and down and never have to run for the toilet. (I think that when Papa edits that last sentence he might get seasick, but I’m leaving it in.)

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

November 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

