Solbit says, “Bye, bye, Barcelona. Hello, Deep Blue Sea”

Dear Nicalai,

I’m SO excited!  We’re going on a trans-Atlantic cruise! (That means we take a big boat — a cruise ship — from Barcelona in Spain across the Atlantic Ocean to Florida in the USA. This is the ship we’ll be on!

DSC01434

Our cruise ship has about 2,800 passengers and 1,500 crew members.  It is BIG.

Nona and Papa are not excited.  Papa gets sea sick, and both of them have never wanted to go on a cruise.  When Papa gets seasick, he literally turns green.  No kidding.  When he’s on a boat, the last thing he wants to think about is food.

I wonder if Papa will eat anything on our 14-day cruise?

I wonder if Papa will eat anything on our 14-day cruise? Maybe Nurit’s cake?

So, I had to ask them why did they get tickets for this 14-day “repositioning cruise?”  Answer: Money and Jet Lag. They found out it costs the same or less than plane tickets back to the USA, and they figured that they wouldn’t have jet lag when they got back.  Strange decision, don’t you think?

Well, I am going to miss Barcelona.  Have I said the same thing about every country we’ve visited and then left?  I think I have. Barcelona is special though with its art

Joan Miro Museum

Joan Miro Museum

with it’s music, especially the guitar music, with it’s architecture,

Gaudi building

Gaudi building

with its public spaces

pubic art and space

pubic art and space

and, of course, with its friendly people.

I’m sort of hoping against all hope that Nona and Papa enjoy this cruise so much that they’ll decide to take another “repositioning cruise” from the USA back to Spain and take me to live in Barcelona again.  For now, though, I have to say “Bye Bye Barcelona.”

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

October 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

