Solbit Snatched from the Jaws of Disaster

Dear Nicalai,

Don’t you like the patterns in this walkway in the Jardins Mirador?  When I first saw them, I just loved them.

gear patterns in  concrete walkway

gear patterns in  concrete walkway

Little did I know that before an hour would pass, the sight of them would send chills up and down my plastic jurassic spine.

Nona and Papa had hiked up Muntanya de Montjuic here in Barcelona, and, of course, they took me along.  I think they like my company, and, also, they don’t want me to be alone at home.  Oh, I think the name of that place means Mountain of Jove, a roman god, but you better check that.

View from Mountjuïc

View from Mountjuïc

Once Nona and Papa got to the top of the mountain, we saw a big old castle, Castell de Mountjuïc.

View of Castle Mountjuïc

View of Castle Mountjuïc

That’s when my nightmare began, but I didn’t know it, yet.  I thought we were having a good time.  We looked around the castle walls.

Solbit safely on a cannon gear

Solbit safely on a cannon gear

We saw these gears on an old cannon, and they were just my size for climbing, so Papa put me up there to have some fun.  He explained that a set of gears like this on an axle had made those beautiful patterns that I liked on the concrete walkways.  Cool, huh?

Solbit in a dangerous position on gears

Solbit in a dangerous position on gears

Then, Papa put me on another gear. He set me down, turned around to see a seaside scene that Nona was clicking a picture of, when another tourist started cranking the gears from the other side of the cannon.  My tail almost got pulled into the teeth of those gears, and I had to run, but it kept turning.

Fortunately, Papa heard the gears making rusty noises, turned, saw me trying to stay ahead of the gears, and snatched me from the jaws of disaster just in time to save me.  Now, when I see those gear patterns in the concrete walkway, they scare me, because I think: that could be me!

I have a recommendation for you.  Never ever put your finger or hand on gears like that and, for sure, never walk on them like I did.  It’s too dangerous.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

October 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Solbit Snatched from the Jaws of Disaster

  1. Thank heavens Solbit was snatched from the jaws just in the nick of time! I hate to even imagine what could have happened to her….

Leave a Reply

