Solbit Realizes, “Barcelona may be the town for me, girl.”

Dear Nicalai,

Maybe I was sleepy and not thinking straight, but I thought I heard Nona saying, “Bars Sell Lona.  Bars Sell Lona.”  I asked myself, “What is Lona, and why do bars sell them?’  Then Nona said, “Solbit, wake up!  We’re in Barcelona!”  And we were!

Barcelona civic space bubbles every day!

Barcelona civic space bubbles every day!

So, she had been saying, “Barcelona. Barcelona,” but my sleepy head was hearing “Bars Sell Lona,” of course that made no sense.  I guess, when you’re sleeping, you brain does funny things, huh?

We got off the Aerobus and walked only a few blocks to our apartment.  Here’s a picture of our street.

Our street has art!

Our street has art!

A beautiful and friendly woman, Juliana, met us, and she showed us all about our apartment and told us where to find things in the neighborhood.

Guess what Nona and Papa wanted to find first?  The Apple Store.  Juliana smiled and pointed on the map, only a few blocks away in Catalunya Plaza near where we got off our bus.  Wow! This town is going to be easy compared to Marrakech streets. Also, we’re right in the heart of things here.

On our first walk around the neighborhood, we found many wonderful little shops and tapas (small dish) cafes.  Let me show you some with a series of photos, OK?

We can walk to the beach where the sand castles are terrific!

We can walk to the beach where the sand castles are terrific!

If I want to see a show, we just walk to Passeig de Lluís Companys, a promenade.

If I want to see a show, we just walk to Passeig de Lluís Companys, a promenade.

DSC00685

After our first look at “Bars Sell Lona,” I’m thinking of taking back my application to live with the Royal Dutch family.  Barcelona may be the town for me, girl.  We going for another walk. Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

October 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

