Solbit Says a Teary Goodbye to Tagine and Morocco

Dear Nicalai,

Nona gave me the bad news last night.  We’re leaving Marrakech.  Worse, we’re leaving Morocco tomorrow.

As we got ready for breakfast this morning, I complained to Papa, “…but I don’t want to say goodbye to Tagine; I don’t want to leave our riad; why can’t we stay in Morocco?”

DSC09793 Tagine & Solbit

Papa says, “Parting is such sweet sorrow.”

Tagine asked me, “Why can’t you say goodbye to Nona and Papa instead of to me?  You can live here in the Riad with me.  I’ll give you rides everyday!”

“They say we have to go to some place called Barcelona. It’s in another country called Spain.  I don’t want to leave you, Tagine, but, also, I don’t want to leave Nona and Papa.  You understand don’t you?” I asked.

DSC09792 Tagine

“My life at this riad is too filled with goodbyes,” Tagine pined.

 Tagine said that, although riad life was good, it has its downside.  He said imagine living in a place where you meet interesting and friendly people, barely get to know them, and, then, they leave a couple days later.  You’re saying “goodbye” almost before you’ve finished saying “hello.”  We looked at each other and had the same thought, “Hey, isn’t there a song something like that?”

DSC09808 Riad Tranquilty

Tagine asked, “So, what will you miss most about Morocco?”

After Tagine, what I’ll miss the most about Morocco is the contrast between the inside and the outside Morocco: the hustle and bustle of Moroccan streets contrasted with the calm and tranquility of the interior of the riad.

Marrakech Street Scene

Marrakech Street Scene

I loved the calm of our raid's rooftop.

I loved the calm of our raid’s rooftop.

Barcelona, here we come.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

October 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

