Solbit Laps Up Luxury in Marrakech

Dear Nicalai,

Remember when I told you that I’m applying to be a member of the Dutch Royal Family?  Well, if that doesn’t work out, then I have a Plan B.  I’ll try to move into a Moroccan Riad.  Girl, forget your MacMansion, your luxury condo, your ranch house, and, even, your Loft.  Here’s where it’s at …

Our courtyard is breezy, shaded, and, oh, so tranquil.

Our courtyard is breezy, shaded, and, oh, so tranquil.

We have breakfast down here in the courtyard each morning.  Coffee and tea, french bread with all kinds of fruit jams and butter, and sometimes a fried egg, plus this luxurious space. Papa said, “Solbit, you’re lapping up luxury here in the riad.”

After breakfast my new Moroccan friend, Tagine, gives me a ride back to our room.

After breakfast my new Moroccan friend, Tagine, gives me a ride back to our room.

 I’m thinking that if the Dutch Royal Family doesn’t have room for me (and how could they not with all their big rooms?), then maybe Tagine and I could become brother and sister or sister and sister. (I can’t tell if he’s a she or if she’s a he. I don’t care which; s/he is really nice.) He’s sort of a jurassic too, right?  Anyway, I like him, and I think he likes me too, in a brother-sister sort of way.

This is a tagine, a Berber cooking pot.

This is a tagine, a Berber cooking pot.

Tagine is named after a type of Berber cooking pot, a tagine, in which they cook almost everything.  Nona and Papa seem to like the food here.  I guess he does look a bit like a tagine, with that shell on top of him, right?

Our riad rooftop hideaway with a view

Our riad rooftop hideaway with a view

When Nona and Papa want to read or write in quiet, they take me up here to the rooftop of our riad.  A tent with a couch and pillows and a 360 degree view of the Medina, the old city, on your own rooftop is hard to beat.

When the day is over, I just lay on our bed and stare at this wonderful painting on our wood ceiling.

Imagine painting this on your ceiling, lying on a scaffold and upside down.  How long would that take?

Imagine painting this on your ceiling, lying on a scaffold and upside down.  How long would that take?

So, I promised you that I’d tell you about Moroccan Riads, and I hope you agree that I kept my promise.  I think I’ll give the Dutch Royal Family until November to give me an answer.  If I don’t hear from them by then, I may ask Tagine if I can move in with him (or her).  With turtles, I can never tell which it is.  Can you?

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

*You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

*You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

