Solbit Hangs On

Dear Nicalai,

Ever hear that song, “Hang on Snoopy, Hang On!”?  That’s what I was “singing” to my self, “Hang on Solbit, Hang On!” when Nona and Papa went for a bike ride along the canal here in Apeldoorn.

DSC09673

I felt like I’d fall off or the wind would push me off and onto the road.

Papa had said, “Let’s take Solbit out of your purse, Nona, and let her ride outside.”  He put me on the brake cable, and I hung on for dear life.  I had to look sideways and couldn’t see what was coming.

At first, I thought, “This will be fun.”  Then we got going and the wind rushed around my head, the pavement below me got blurry, the trees were whooshing by (or were we whooshing by them?), and the thought occurred to me, “what if I fall off this cable?” I yelled to Papa, “I’m scared.  Do something! Quick!”

Papa stopped. Then we tried a new position, with me looking forward.

DSC09674 - Version 2

This way of riding the bike felt ever so much safer, AND I could really see what was coming.

That worked much better.  I got used to the wind in my face and liked it.

DSC09656

I know some people think riding bikes in the Netherlands is scary, but, trust me, it can be very pleasant. Like this.

The bike paths here in the Netherlands go everywhere, from town centers to lovely tree -lined lanes.

IMG_3386

How many places can you go to and enjoy both a tranquil canal and a pleasant bike path at the same time?

This is where we spent most of our time, riding along a canal.  When I say “canal” what comes to mind?  I bet it isn’t “cow.”

IMG_3375

This cow, like most Dutch people, understood both English and Dutch! So we had a chat.

We had biked only 15 or 20 minutes from the town of Apeldoorn, and already we saw cows in pastures!  We stopped to chat and parked our bikes.

IMG_3366

Usually we locked our bikes, but out here by the pasture we didn’t. (Don’t tell Cat & René, though; we borrowed their bikes.)

These friendly Dutch cows told me that they had never seen a dinosaur before, much less a plastic jurassic.  They wondered if all dinosaurs were as small as I am.  I said that dinosaurs were both very small and also very large.  In fact, some dinosaurs were much, much bigger than they are.  I asked them if they knew that today’s birds are probably descendants of the dinosaurs.  They expressed amazement and asked me, “Do you mean that some of these birds might be relatives of yours?”

That’s something that had not occurred to me.  What an interesting question.  Could I have an aunt who is a bird?  I don’t think so, because, truth is, I’m just a piece of molded plastic, but I didn’t tell the cows that.  I want them to be able to tell their story of how they once met a bike-riding dinosaur.  Why spoil their story, right?

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

