Solbit Asks, “What Do I Do To Become A Royal?”

Dear Nicalai,

You know that I love you and the family, but I’m ready to make a move.  I want to become a member of the royal family here in the Netherlands.  Look what the Dutch royal kids get to do.

DSC09708

Isn’t this a cool car?  The royal children get to drive this car.  How good is that?!

That’s not all.  Just imagine you’re a kid — well, actually you are a kid, so you don’t have to imagine that — but imagine you’re royalty.  You say to your friends, “Hey, come over to my place, and we’ll play in the garage.”

DSC09704

This is an old stable and carriage house of the Dutch royal family.

They show up, and you take them into this “garage” at the Paleis Het Loo.  Amazing, huh?  Yeah, it looks so big, you would think it was their palace, but, no, this building is for their horses, buggies, and cars.  Now, this is where they lived.

IMG_3413

Ah, I’m already thinking “Home Sweet Home.”

I can hardly ‘bear” to show you my next photo.  I took this inside that royal palace.

DSC09734 - Version 2

This did upset me.

I don’t think people should go around shooting bears and then walking on them like a rug.  Do you?  If I were to become a royal, I’d do something respectful with that bear rug.

IMG_3415

Now here’s the right way to show off animals, if you ask me.

Instead of killing them and laying them on the floor, you make a sculpture of them, create what Nona calls “a water feature.”  (Papa said, “Water feature smeacher. It’s a fountain.”) Then you live and let live, while enjoying the outdoor art.

Maybe you know what “smeacher” means.  If you do, please let me know what it is.  Papa’s too grumpy to ask.  Nona told me he’ll be OK once he has his nap.  Golly, 69 and he’s still taking naps?  Do you even take naps anymore.  I sure don’t.  Too much to do in a day, right?  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

