Solbit Goes to Holland; Makes Dutch Acquaintances

Dear Nicalai,

Girl, is this place different.  What place?  Holland.  That’s where we are.  What’s the story with the people who live here?  When they talk, they make sounds like Papa makes when he’s trying to clear his throat, but I don’t think they all have bad colds.

Also, they can’t decide what their country’s name is. Sometimes they say “Holland” and sometimes “Het Nederlands,” “the Netherlands” in English. And, why do they put the letters of “the” in all the wrong places?

Of course, they don’t speak English.  Their language is Dutch, except where it’s Frisian.  I don’t have time now to explain.  Just trust me.  Some people in this country speak a language called Frisin.  Almost sounds like “freeze’n,” doesn’t it? Maybe because it gets so cold here?  I don’t know.

So, we were walking around the Hunting Lodge in the Hoge Veluwe National Park near Apeldoorn, when I met this monkey.

A monkey at a hunting lodge is not what I had expected.

A monkey at a hunting lodge is not what I had expected.

What self-respecting monkey is going to hang around a hunting lodge, especially in Northern Europe?  That’s where we are now.

The poor guy had been stuck in that position for years.  Good weather and bad.  He didn’t speak English, just Dutch.  So we couldn’t chat. I could tell that he had a stiff neck, though.  Still, he was okay with me walking around on him.  As I say, these Dutch folks are nice.  Oh, by the way, don’t worry, no one hunts there today. Now its a nature preserve and museum.  So the animals are safe.

Hey, did you know the Dutch have a lot of canals?  What are canals?  You know, waterways.  That’s where I met this Bean Goose.

DSC09449 - Version 2

The Bean Goose has no beans as far as I could tell.

Isn’t she pretty?  She lives most of the time on a canal in Apeldoorn. I guess, before cars and trucks were invented, the canals were used a lot by Dutch people for transportation.  Now, the canals are used mostly by ducks and geese.  Ms. Bean Goose likes the canal life, because she and her babies — called goslings — can go swimming all the time.

When we went to another art museum, The Kröller-Müller Museum, I met another dinosaur!  Imagine one plastic jurassic meeting another at — of all places — an art museum in Holland!  That doesn’t happen often. Her name was Dina Saur.  Papa said that’s a Dutch name, but I think he’s just kidding me.

DSC09623

A dinosaur head at an art museum is not what I expected.

You can tell that we hit it off, but I had to go home with Nona and Papa to Bjorn’s house.  Bjorn could tell that I was sad to leave Ms Dina Saur.  When we got home, he found a way to cheer me up.  Look.

DSC09635

Dinosaurs on bedroom wallpaper is not what I had expected.

He has very special wallpaper in his bedroom.  It has dinosaurs on it!  I spent some time with his wallpaper dinos, and that cheered me up.  Thanks, Bjorn, you are so thoughtful!

Well, my new Dutch acquaintances make me happy to be in Holland.  You’ll be pleased to know that we haven’t once been under water in these low lands and, more than once, I’ve had a high time seeing new places and meeting new friends.  Isn’t travel wonderful?  Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

