Solbit Can’t Say It, But She Likes It

Dear Nicalai,

Hi! Today’s the day we went to that place in Amsterdam that I can’t say, The Rijksmusem.  Even though I can’t say it.  I really, REALLY like it.  Look.

Nona studied architecture, that’s drawing buildings, and she said this is an amazing building.

Nona studied architecture, that’s drawing buildings, and she said this is an amazing building.

Well, I couldn’t say Rijksmuseum, but our friend, Bjorn, taught me: “rikes” and “museum.”  Now I can say it!  It’s not really hard at all.

Guess what?  René said that our timing is good for visiting here.  Know why?  Because the Rijksmuseum had been closed for restoration work for — get this — ten years!  A whole decade!  It re-opened only a year ago.  So, we’ve gotten here at the right time.  Lucky us.

New word: "stabile," another sculpture by Alexander Calder.

New word: “stabile,” another sculpture by Alexander Calder.

Inside is a famous painting by a famous Dutch artist.  Here I am with the painting; Kai suggested that I take a selfie, and then Papa helped me to take a kind of selfie.  As you can imagine, his little iPhone is way to big for me.

My "selfie" with the "Nightwatch" guys is a little blurry. Sorry.

My “selfie” with “The Nightwatch” guys is a little blurry. Sorry.

I know. It’s not too good, but I’m going to work on more selfies until I get it right.  Oh, I forgot to say, the painting is called, in English, “The Nightwatch,” and the painter is Rembrandt.

The museum had so many paintings to see that we had to stop to eat lunch in the cafe.  We sat looking at something Cat called a “mobile.”  It hung from the ceiling and the air moved it.

Mobile by, you guessed it, A. Calder.

Mobile by, you guessed it, A. Calder.

Nona explained that an American artist, Alexander Calder, made this mobile. I guess he enjoyed making mobiles, and he made so many that you can see them in many different countries. 

While they ate and looked at the art, Papa stared at a dessert, a green cake.  I think he was going to order a dessert.

Papa said, "too guey," and decided against dessert.

Papa said, “too gooey,” and decided against dessert.

When he found out the green was “gooey,” he decided not to have dessert.  What’s wrong with “gooey?”  Sugar and food coloring sound pretty good to me, but, then, I’m just a Plastic Jurassic.  What do I know about human food? Give me a nice piece of green plastic jurassic fern, and I’m a happy iguanodon.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

*New reader? Get oriented below.

You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.

You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

