Solbit Wishes for Strange Things

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

You know what, I actually like strange things.  Papa said that can be a good thing.  So, I am going to wish for more strange things in my life.  Here’s something that looks a bit strange to me, but I like it.

DSC08793

What do you think?  I like that someone collected onions. Tied them together, and hung them in a ring over the tile. Don’t you?  Also, the blue and gold have a calming effect on me.

So, I’m going to wish for wonderful tiles like these for my birthday!  Just look at them and enjoy them.

DSC08774

DSC08778

Not all the tile patterns are the same.  Some have drawings in them.  We saw this one when we were in Madeira.  It has a drawing.

DSC08049

Nona said to call a tile like this a “figurative” design, because it has a figure in it.  It figures that you would call it figurative, right?  We saw other figures or designs on sidewalks.

DSC08801

Girl, somebody does a lot of hard labor to put down all those tiny stones in just the right places to make those designs.

DSC08807

Still, don’t you think this looks a lot better than just plain concrete or asphalt, or even bricks?

DSC08619

Going for a walk on these kind of sidewalks could cheer up your day, couldn’t it?  Nona says that these walkways can be a type of “public art,” and that public art makes my day better!  I think she’s right.  Hey, just imagine yourself walking or driving home and arriving at a driveway that looks like this one.

DSC07960

If I ever have a home, I wish to put some strange things in it and around it.  For example, I’ll make a drive way like this one.  It’ll probably take me a long time, but that’s ok, because making it might be as much fun as walking on it.  Also, you could come by my place to look at it anytime, and it would be free. If that’s sounds strange, that’s OK, because, sometimes, strange can be good.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

