Solbit Has Opinons! … on the Street Art & Graffiti of Porto

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Have you caught up with us yet?  We’re still in Portugal, but not Madeira.  We’re in the old town of Porto.  Porto has already taught me something about myself, something I didn’t know: I have OPINIONS!

Nona and Papa took me for a walk to look at Street Art and Graffiti.  When I saw those red doors with the boats, I said, “Hey, I like that!”  Papa asked, “Are you sure?”  I said, “Yes, I know I like that one.”  He sort of squeezed his face together and said, “Well, that’s one person’s opinion.”   We walked on.

DSC08745

“Now, that’s a nice piece of Street Art,” Papa said, and he pointed to this.

DSC08751

I just stared at it, “A mouth gaping open with fingers sticking in it?  Yuck!” Nona jumped in, “Solbit, Papa has his opinion, and you have yours.  They don’t have to be the same.”  “Nona, did you say that I have an opinion?” I asked.  She explained that how I felt about a piece of Street Art is one kind of opinion, and I had one, an opinion, that is.  Wow!  “So, now that I have an opinion, where should I put it, Nona? Also, where is it?”  She advised me to just remember it, and, if I want, I can exchange it for a different opinion sometime later.  Also, she said I don’t have to pay anything for it, and I could have as many opinions as I liked!

So, then I went searching for Street Art and Graffiti to have opinions about them.  I got on a roll.  Look …

In my opinion, these cardboard figures — pretend people — in an empty building are amusing (funny).  I like them.  What’s your opinion?

IMG_2734

When I saw the graffiti scrawled on this art, I just got angry.  In my opinion, its not nice to scribble on someone else’s art.

DSC08782

I like this art, but, again, why mess it up by scribbling underneath it?  I think someone has a problem, and it’s not the artist.

DSC08783

Here’s something interesting to me.  Two people can share the same opinion!  Did you know that?  Papa and I shared the opinion that this metal face is appealing, and that the graffiti shouldn’t be put on it.  Hey, we shared two opinions!

DSC08784

Nona cautioned me, “Solbit, you want to always feel comfortable to express your opinions, but you don’t want to become opinionated.  Don’t assume your opinions should be shared by everyone else.  Give others room to feel comfortable to express their opinions, too.  OK?”

DSC08796 - Version 2

“OK, but I really, really wish those graffiti scribblers would stop messing up the art. Why can’t they just do their own scribbles someplace else?” I asked Nona.

She shrugged her shoulders and said, “I don’t know, Solbit, but you should never scribble on other people’s walls or art.  OK?”  I easily agreed with Nona, but I wondered if it might be ok for me someday to paint art over someone else’s graffiti?  Like this.

DSC08796

What’s your opinion?

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

September 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

