Solbit Gets Hit with a Blue Blast! and look at those Shades!

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Papa ran up to Nona and me.  He seemed excited.  “Give me about two minutes, and then follow me down that path and see if you can find me. I want to show you something! OK?”  We said, “OK.”  He took off.  We waited.  When we found him, we got a blast of blue …

DSC08168

Blue Bam! And those mirrored glasses made a picture that we had to take.  I asked Papa, “What’s that big blue screen for? Is it a big flat screen monitor?  When’s the show start?”

Nona, ever the artist, explained to Papa  and me, “ No, that’s not a big flat screen TV, that’s a painting.  It’s in tribute to a famous 20th Century French artist, Yves Klein.”  The look on Papa’s face said just what I was thinking, “That’s a painting?”

Nona said that Yves Klein created that shade of blue, and it’s called International Klein Blue or just IKB.  Right away, that made me wonder how many shades of blue I can find in Funchal. I’m even wondering how many shades of blue there are. Do you know?

Later that day, we were walking to the Pingo Doce grocery store near our AirBnB.  I walked right into this red cow.  Bump.  She said, “Moo,” and I said, “Excuse me, please.”  Then I saw it, IKB on her head.

IMG_2316

Her eye glasses were International Klein Blue. No kidding! “Girl, I love your eyeglasses,” I said.  She replied, “Yeah, don’t they just go with my complexion, girl! Thank God for Yves Klein.  Right?”  I acted well informed, “Right!”

“What are the chances of me seeing IKB blue twice in one day, when I had never heard of it before today?” I asked Papa.  “Solbit, that only happens once in a blue moon.”  “That’s it!” I said, “Thanks, Papa.”  To see another shade of blue, all I had to do was find a moon.  I’m sure it won’t be IKB blue.

DSC08081 - Version 2

I found a moon minutes later in a garden.  “Nona, put me in the moon.  I need to check if it’s a blue moon.”  She put me in the moon.  No matter how hard I looked, I just couldn’t see any blue color.  “I’m going to have to find another shade of blue somewhere else. This moon is no help at all,” I complained to Papa.

He told me to come with him, and he’d find some blue.  “The traditional tile here uses blue a lot, and it is different than the Klein blue, because this blue was made centuries ago.

DSC08083

You know, I can always count on Papa to help me and on Nona to take the photo.  So, this is some kind of 18th century blue. It’s a kinder, gentler blue than IKB, don’t you think?  Yet, I also like the way the IKB pops in my eyes.  I guess I like them both, but for different reasons.

Oh, by the way, Papa googled “shades of blue” for me, and he found a couple sources that say 52 shades of blue have been identified.  I didn’t know until now that one color could come in some many different shades.  Did you?

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

August 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

