Solbit says, “When in Rome, Take My Picture, Please!”

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Well, I’m so mad that I could spit!  If only plastic Jurassics had spit.  We don’t.  Nona and Papa took me to Rome.  Guess what?  Not one picture of me in Rome!  Not one!  I’ll probably never get to Rome again.  (Rome is a big city in a country called Italy.)  Nona and Papa are so old, they certainly won’t take me again. Do you think?

We walked all over Rome with Nona’s Sony RX100 camera and with Papa’s iPhone4S camera.  They took one photo after another.  Look at this.

DSC07787

Papa took this one of a famous, historic building, the Pantheon.  It has the world’s largest unsupported, concrete dome. Did he think to put me in the picture?  No. I say, “When in Rome, take my picture, please!”

We went to the Vatican. Know what that is?  It’s a Roman Catholic City State inside the city of Rome.  St. Peter’s Basilica is there, right next door to  where the Pope lives.

DSC07818

Could they take the trouble to photograph me here. No.  Don’t you think the Pope would have given a Plastic Jurassic an audience (and a photo op)?  I hear he’s a real regular fella.  Guess what, he’s called “Il Papa,”  just like our Papa, only our Papa isn’t a Pope.

The Pope is the leader of the Catholic Church.  Papa said, “He’s infallible on church matters.”  I asked, “What’s infallible?”  Nona said, “Never makes a mistake or always right.”  “Oh,” I said, “Just like Nona!”  She said, “That’s right, Solbit, and don’t you forget it.”

We found this person stuck in a wall, and sometimes water came out of her mouth.

DSC07836

Nona told me it’s not a real person, it’s what they call a sculpture, and this sculpture is called a fountain, because it squirts water.  I’m learning so much on our travel!

Nona and Papa were talking about something called a “lemon cello.”  I had already learned what a lemon is, and we watched a movie, “A Late Quartet,” in which I saw a musical instrument called a cello.  So, I was really surprised to hear them say that Papa was going to try a lemon cello.  He’s not very musical, but, also, I don’t see how you could make a cello out of a lemon. Do you?

Turns out it’s “limoncello,” an Italian liqueur made with lemons and alcohol.  He was going to taste it.  These words can be very confusing for a plastic Jurassic.  I’m not “infallable,” am I?

OK.  We’re packing already to leave Rome.  Yep, next stop is someplace way out in the Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Africa.  It’s called Madeira. I can’t believe I don’t have even one picture of me in Rome to send you.  I’ll send photos of me in Madeira to you, though.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

August 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

