Solbit Finds the First Mariners

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

You know Nona and Papa.  They go for a walk every evening. Have done for, they claim, 44 years.  So, here in Chania, we walk around the old Venetian harbor at least once a day.  Sometimes, we go in the  morning too.  You know what we see.  Right, a lot of boats. Boats of all kinds too.  I thought I’d show some to you.

Here are some working boats.  They’re “working” because they’re used to go catch fish for the market.

DSC07635

You can see some of their fishing nets piled up there in the center of the photo. Sometimes when we walk by those boats, oh girl, you wouldn’t like the smell!

Papa said that whoever owns this boat is a “clever adapter.”  A what?

DSC07636

I said, “Papa, please speak words that I can understand. OK?”  He tried, “Well, I mean the captain of that little boat is smart.  He took a cover for a pick up truck, put it on top of his boat, and he made a captain’s wheelhouse. He “adapted” that pickup top to a boat top.”  I said, “I get it. Hey, I think I’d like to be a “clever adapter.”  I’m going to look for something to adapt.”

Nona said that she did a “double take” when she saw this boat being paddled into the harbor by all these people.  It’s really a raft.

DSC07583 <>

The group on this raft had made it with their own hands out of reeds and with stone age type tools, and then they sailed it for 48 hours from a town on the mainland of Greece to Chania, Crete.  They called themselves “The First Mariners,” but, of course, they weren’t.

Something about a boat cruising by an old light house tower has a calming effect on me.

DSC07561 - Version 2

I could sit and watch that kind of thing all day. Actually, I tried to do that, but Papa insisted, “Come on the day is still young.  We have more walking to do. Have to get in our 10,000 steps!”  I got an idea.  “OK, let’s go over their to the lighthouse tower.  You hold me up so I can sit on it for the view, and, Nona, you stay here and take my picture.”  To my surprise, they did it!

DSC07674

Wow, on a clear day, I could see forever, maybe all the way to the Greek mainland.

Here’s my favorite photo of that lighthouse tower.  Nona took it when we went walking at sunset.

DSC07427 - Version 2

I really wish you were here to go for walks with us.  You’d like seeing all the boats, but, in some places, you might have to hold your nose…just for a little bit.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

July 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

