Solbit Becomes a Time Traveler

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

I have a new word. Archeology.  Know what that is?  It’s this kind of thing.

DSC07389

Remains of a Minoan town on Kastelli Hill, Chania, Crete

That’s a “dig” where scientists found what is left of a Minoan town here in Chania on Kastelli Hill.  They say this Minoan town goes way back to 4000 BC.  Let’s see, that would be about 6000 years ago, right? Look they had stone side walks and town squares.

Nona and Papa showed me an artist’s drawing of what this Minoan town would have looked like.  It looked very modern and comfortable.  I don’t think Nona would have liked it:  no Replica Edition of The New York Times on her iPad.  Also, no motor-scooters for me to get over those cobblestones. Still, I thought the town plan looked really people-friendly.  Of course, I’m not “people,” but I like to think the Minoans would like me, too.

My new word, archeology, if I got it right, is the study of human activity in the past by looking at what ancient people left behind. They left a lot of stuff behind, let me tell you. At the archeology museum we saw stones and bones and pottery and jewelry and even environment remains like seeds and salts.

I guess if you look deep under ground in some places, you’ll be surprised to find remains of places where people lived a long time ago.  Chania seems to  have a lot of that.  What do you think you’ll leave behind to be found by people thousands of years from now?

Hey, I didn’t even have to look underground to see the remains of the old Venetian town here in Chania. Here’s a really big wall that they left behind, maybe 600 years ago.

DSC07650

Can you see the guy up top who is fishing?

That wall is holding up pretty well don’t you think.  Can you see that guy up on top fishing in the harbor from the wall?  I can tell you he’s a big guy, but the wall is so much bigger that the guy looks tiny.

Speaking of looking tiny.  Look at me.

DSC07651 - Version 2

I played “Hide & Seek” on this old Venetian wall.

I’m so tiny and the wall is so huge that I nearly disappear in the space between the stone blocks!  I had fun running along those seams in the wall and hiding from Nona and Papa.  Papa said that we were playing a game.  It’s called “hide and seek.”  You can play that almost anywhere.  Fun.

The thing I’m going to remember from our archeology walk in old town Chania is what Nona told me, “Solbit, we’re not just traveling around the world today.  Thanks to archeology, we also get to travel back in time.  Imagine that we got to travel back 6000 years on our little walk around town today.  Isn’t that amazing?”

I said, “Yes, that’s amazing, but, also, don’t forget that I got to learn a new word today: archeology, and maybe I’ll learn to say that word too before we leave Chania. It’s really long and hard to say right.”

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

July 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

