Solbit’s Hazardous Walk in Chania

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hi.  Let me ask you a question:  how many giants have you seen in your life time, and how tall were they?  Now, see if my answer beats yours.  Here I am getting a “soleful” view.

DSC07647

An eyeful of sole or a soleful view, whichever.

So, now, I’ve seen one giant, and that’s enough for me. Yeah, that’s my soleful view. Know what I mean? Now, just imagine how big that guy wearing that shoe is. He must be a few hundred times bigger than I am.

“Hey, little fella, good thing you moved in time. I didn’t see you and could have flattened you,” the giant said. He was so big that his voice nearly knocked me over.  “Sorry, about that,” he said and took a step right over me and disappeared down the cobblestone alley.

I yelled back, “That’s OK, but I’m not a fella.  I’m a girl, and an iguanodon! Know what that is?” but he just disappeared.

I think his ears are so high up and my voice is so tiny that he just didn’t hear me.  I told Papa, “He seemed like a nice enough giant, but he’s so big that he can do a lot of damage and not even notice.”  Papa replied, “Solbit, a lot of giants are like that.”

You know what else can do a lot of damage?  Cobblestones.  I’m racing to keep up with Nona and Papa on these cobblestone streets of Chania.  Look at these cobblestones, would you?

DSC07657

Solbit lost among Chania’s cobblestones

Nona and Papa think the cobblestones are pretty, but I just see them as obstacles to a good walk.  I get lost in the maze of crevices between the stones.  Then they have to come back to look for me.  So far they’ve always found me, but we’re worried that one day, I’ll just disappear in a cobblestone maze.  That’s a problem with being little like me.

Hey, problem solved!  We were walking by a souvenir shop here in Old Town Chania, and Nona saw something on display.  She said, “Solbit, I think we found what you need, and it’ll fit in my purse with you, too!”  What is it?

DSC07644

Will a motor-scooter be the answer to her problem?

A motor-scooter just my size!  It gets me up high enough to see where I’m going, and it’s fast enough that I can scoot (that’s why they call it a scooter, right?) between the cobblestones fast enough to keep up with Nona and Papa.  Papa said he once had a motorcycle, and he knows I’ll enjoy driving this motor scooter.

Just one thing holding us up, now.  They have to find me a helmet.  I think they said it has to be a size xxxxxxxxxx small, and those can be hard to find.  Also, I have to practice driving it, because balancing on two wheels is tricky at first.  Can you ride on two wheels?

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

July 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

