Solbit Is Tickled to be in Crete

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Remember my last email to you?  I had told Nona and Papa that I didn’t want to go to Crete.  Well, we didn’t go to Crete.  You might think that means we’re staying in Tanzania.  You’d be wrong.  Oh, no, they decided to stop in one of their favorite cities, Istanbul … on our way to Crete.

IMG_3004

Nona at a roof top cafe and behind her the Aya Sofia, at sunset.

I miss Tanzania, but — and this is good — Istanbul is really neat. Look at our neighborhood, Sultanhamet, in that picture. Wow, don’t you love it!

By the way, Istanbul is in a country called Turkey.  I thought turkey was a bird, but it’s also a whole country! Who knew?

Well, we stayed there for four days, and then, you guessed it, we flew to Crete. Not to concrete but to Crete.  By the way, Crete is in a country called Greece. Sounds like grease, but it’s not; it’s a country, too! (Too many “by the ways” in that paragraph, huh?)

So far, I have to admit that our little place in the Old Town of Chania is comfortable.  You might say I’m tickled to be in Crete.  Look.

DSC07656 - Version 3

My harvester ant friends loved to climb on me. Their little feet tickled me.

That was taken when we were walking around old walls. Papa put me down on the ground, and these harvester ants came up to welcome me, and they walked all over me, but it wasn’t bad.  Their little feet tickled.  I was giggling. (Don’t try this at home. You might get bitten.)

Also, their other animals seem to be more friendly — Papa says “tamer” — than the ones in Tanzania.  See what I mean?

DSC07587

I decided to let a sleeping dog lie, and it ignored me, too.

That dog and this cat even sleep next to each other on our street.

DSC07640

My neighbor, the cat, stared at me a lot. Guess it doesn’t see a dinosaur very often.

We went walking in some ruins of the Old Venetian fort. Yeah, way back a few hundred years ago people from Venice ran this place. They left behind some beautiful stone buildings.

When we walked by the old Venetian harbor, I looked down in the water to see a big animal I’d never seen before.  Nona said, “Solbit, look it’s a tortoise.”  I said, “Hi, Ms Tortoise.”

DSC07440

Harry the Loggerhead Sea Turtle taught me a thing or two, after I apologized.

Right away, it took offense.  “I’m no Ms, and I’m certainly not a tortoise. My name is Harry the Loggerhead Sea Turtle!”

“Oops! Sorry,” I said. “I don’t know how to tell a Ms from a Mr Tortoise; I mean Turtle.” I apologized.  He was nice, accepted my apology, and then made me feel better by saying, “That’s OK, almost nobody can tell the difference, except us turtles.”

Then, a little further on our walk, we saw a bird that I’ve seen before. I was careful not to say Ms or Mr Goose.  I just yelled, “Hello, Goose!” It flew away then.

DSC07470 - Version 2

Guess I yelled too loud or maybe it was just me being a dinosaur. This goose flew away.

I guess I scared it.  It probably had a fear of dinosaurs, and my yelling didn’t help.  It probably didn’t know that we iguanodons are vegetarian and wouldn’t hurt a goose.

So, in just one little walk around town, I got tickled by ants, ignored by a dog and a cat, offended a tortoise, and scared a goose.  Pretty full day, right?

I wonder what’s worse, offending someone or scaring someone?  I promise to always try not to do either.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

July 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

