Solbit Visits Butterflies in Zanzibar 

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Hi.  Papa said something odd on our way to some enviro-eco place here in Zanzibar.  “Float like a butterfly; sting like a bee.”

“What?”  I asked him. Craig, in the back of our van said, “That’s a quote from Muhammed Ali, the great American boxer.”

Nona told me, “Solbit, sometimes the mention of one thing will make you remember something else. So, when Papa heard we were going to the Zanzibar Butterfly Centre, he remembered one of his heroes, Muhammed Ali. Muhammed Ali used the word “butterfly” when he described how he boxed. ‘Float like a butterfly; sting like a bee.’ He was not only a champion boxer, but he was a champion for civil rights and for peace.”

I asked Nona, “What’s a boxer? Someone who puts things into boxes or what?”  Nona said, “Ooops, we’re here; I’ll have to tell you later.” We went right into the Butterfly Centre.  A smart, friendly man and a beautiful little girl, his neighbor, welcomed us, and taught us so much about butterflies that I’m not sure I can remember it all correctly.

Here are some pictures.  (I’m just a little plastic jurassic, so, if I make a mistake telling you what they are, please let me know. You can make a comment back to my blog, OK?)

Well, the main thing about a butterfly that got my attention is how very different it looks from its “baby” stage to its “adult” form.  It goes through several stages to get from these teeny weeny eggs

DSC05904

(Hey, these don’t look anything like the eggs Papa has for breakfast, do they?) to this worm-like form, called a “caterpillar”

Butterfly Center Tour of Jozani Chwaka Bay NP and Butterfly Garden

then to this green bean looking thing called “pupa”

DSC05910

and then the pupa changes into this, a “chrysalis”

DSC05908

(doesn’t this one look like metal?) and then, a completely different looking insect breaks out of its chrysalis and floats up to a sitting place to dry its wings.  It’s a butterfly!

Butterfly Center Tour of Jozani Chwaka Bay NP and Butterfly Garden

Amazing!  We got to see a lot of different butterflies in a butterfly garden. The garden had flowering plants that the butterflies like, because they provide their “food,” which is something called nectar.  I guess nectar is a sweet tasting liquid.

If you come to Zanzibar, you definitely want to make a trip to the Zanzibar Butterfly Centre.  I got to be good friends with the little girl, Neema.  Mentioning “friends” reminds me of another Muhammed Ali quote that Papa told me:  “Friendship … is not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.”

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

June 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

Leave a Reply

