Solbit Doesn’t Have a Problem with Crabs

*New reader? Get oriented below.

Dear Nicalai,

Some people have a problem with crabs, but I don’t.  I like them.  What are crabs?  You know those little things you see on beaches and sometimes at the edges of rivers or creeks?

The ones I’m talking about are bubbler crabs.  When I first met one, I wasn’t looking for it.  Nona, Papa, and I were walking on Four Mile Beach here in Port Douglas in Far North Queensland.  Papa pointed out the little sand balls that radiated out from little holes in the sandy beach.  That’s the first thing I noticed.

DSC05447

Papa picked me up.  He said, “Solbit, come up here so you can get a perspective on these little sand balls.  See the lovely patterns?”  Well, then I could see the patterns.  I guess that’s what “perspective” means, where you’re looking from, huh? I had been too close to see the patterns.  I had to get farther away to appreciate the lovely patterns of sand balls, the art.  So that was the second thing that I noticed.

Then I used Papa’s word.  It’s good to try to use a new word as soon as you learn it.  I said, “Papa, I want a closer perspective, now.  Please put me down.”  He did, and I almost fell into a hole!

DSC05454

I caught myself, though.  Then, Nona said, “Solbit, be very still and quiet.  Wait and watch.  Maybe something will come up from that hole.”  So that’s what I did, and here’s the third thing that I noticed, movement. Something moved very quickly and stopped suddenly.

DSC05455

That’s when this tiny crab, smaller than I am, came to the surface.  The moment it saw me, zoom, it went scurrying down the beach.

DSC05467

It didn’t need to run away, because I wouldn’t hurt it or eat it.  I’m vegetarian, and I like crabs, especially these little bubbler crabs that are so artsy.  Don’t you think they make the beach look pretty with their dot “paintings?”

Biology Lesson:  Remember that I told you about the marine worms on the beach?    They make those squiggly thingies, castings, when they strip organic matter from the sand and then poop out the sand.  Well, that’s what these bubbler crab sand balls are too, poop, not from worms but from those little crabs.  Guess what? It doesn’t smell at all, either.

I’ve got to go.  Nona and Papa said we have to get packed for our trip to Tanzania tomorrow.  They said that we’re going to stop on the way in a place called Doha, Qatar.  I’m really excited, even though I don’t have a lot of things to pack, because, you know, we dinosaurs don’t have to wear clothes. Bye.

I’m your friend.

Love,

Solbit

June 2014

  • You may be asking yourself, “Who is Solbit?” Solbit is a fictional character, but she is a real plastic dinosaur, sent to us unsolicited in a package we ordered from Photojojo. So, she’s a plastic jurassic. Solbit is short for the four names given her by our grandchildren: Sparkle, Orangie, Lulu, Breakit. We tend to use her given names for when she’s been naughty. Thank you for visiting Tales of a Plastic Jurassic. Solbit likes company and hopes you’ll come back.
  • You can learn more about Solbit at her About page and in the earlier posts, “Solbit: How I Got My Name” and “Solbit: How I Got to Travel.”

2 thoughts on “Solbit Doesn’t Have a Problem with Crabs

  1. Seeing that crab coming outa the hole next to Solbit cracked me up! great story, great shutter snap! Betsy

    • Solbit here. Thanks Betsy. Nona kept telling me to be still and wait and that crab would pop out. I didn’t believe her. Then I was really surprised when it did pop up. Nona took the photo, and she said, “See, Solbit, patience has its reward.” I had to ask her what is “patience.” Waiting calmly. I’m practicing my waiting calmly so I can get more rewards. – S.

Leave a Reply

